PDA

View Full Version : Help me decide between Solo2 and Duo2

iMak
19-04-15, 11:59
Hi everyone :wave:,

I am totally new to VU+ receivers and looking for your help. I am currently using a clone DM800se and it's ok so far. I want to buy a new receiver for my second TV. I read about the VU+ receivers and can say they are decent and well built.

I narrowed down my wish list to Solo2 and Duo2, but can't decide which one to get. Why? Because the price difference is only EUR 80.00 from the place I found.

VU+ Solo2 (2xDVB-S2 Tuner) = EUR 269.00
VU+ Duo2 (2xDVB-S2 Tuner) = EUR 349.00

The advantages of the Duo2 over Solo2 which I can tell are, more RAM and Flash, builtin WIFI, 2.5/3.5 in HDD instead of 3.5 in HDD, more options to configure the tuners. But still can't decide. I need experienced users to guide me. I know a couple of years ago some people were preferring Solo2 over Duo2 because of the price difference. Now the case is difference I guess.

I will be waiting for your recommendations.

Thanks,
Mak

goosegog
19-04-15, 12:17
hi iMak,if your sure its a choice between the two youve mentioned i would only think on how many tuners you think you will need in the future,i wouldnt worry about ram and flash or size of hdd.
if you opt for a solo 2 be very careful not to buy a clone.price is normaly a give away but not %100,if in doubt buy from WOS

Andy_Hazza
19-04-15, 12:46
Take a look at the Mut@nt HD2400, great receiver. And btw your new purchase should be the main box n the clone relegated to the 2nd tv room. [emoji106]🏼

DaMacFunkin
19-04-15, 13:06
If you ever needed extra tuners on the solo2 you could add USB ones, the sundtek tuners are better than the dvbsky cheepies. I have solo2 and duo2 with USB tuners with no problems.

iMak
19-04-15, 22:58
Thank you guys for your reply. To assure you, the receivers are genuine and what I really need to know is, if you are experienced with VU products, which model you will get given the above prices?

iMak
19-04-15, 23:01