PDA

View Full Version : Which vu as a second box?

Fuzzy
04-03-15, 12:16
Hi

I have had a VU+ Duo2 for about a year now and it is a lovely piece of kit - no complaints about it whatsoever. I will soon be moving into a new house with my partner though and I think I'll be needing more than one box as we often watch different things. My duo2 has 4 S2 tuners and a dvb-T2 tuner and it has a 1Tb internal hdd.

So, my questions are: Would a second box need an S2 tuner or could it use one of the tuners in the duo2? I have a sky subscription so if my card is in one box, could I watch encrypted channels in the other? Would it be a good idea to put the dvb-t2 tuner in the second box? Would the second box need it's own hdd? If it did have its own tuner, could it record onto the duo2's hdd? Would it be a case of having 2 standalone boxes that are networked together, or one main box with the second slaving off it? And finally, which vu+ box would be the most suitable for my needs? I was thinking of a Solo or Solo2 but I have only ever owned one (my duo2) so I don't know a great deal about any of the others.

Sorry for all the questions and thanks very much in advance for any help! :)

bellejt
04-03-15, 12:51
I have 2 duo2's here and second box is using remote stream on ethernet connection.Also using one tuner and HDD of the master box.In belgium the differance in price between solo and duo is a few euro's.PS : no need for tuner in second box.

duoduo
04-03-15, 20:08
I recently purchased a vu zero for my bedroom, the solo2 is my main receiver and I just use remote channel stream converter plugin to use a tuner from solo2 to watch sky upstairs.

Fuzzy
05-03-15, 12:31
Thanks for the advice guys. I'm not sure the budget will allow for another duo2 Bellejt (much as I'd like one), so I may well go for a zero - I don't think zeros were out when I bought my duo2. Just had a quick read of the description on WoS and the zero is actually recommended as a second box to a Solo2 or Duo2 :)