PDA

View Full Version : What exactly can be changed?

matt007
11-02-15, 12:54
Hi I am in the process of modding an existing skin on here to suit my needs. Im stuck on a few things which I am hoping some of the regular skinners can help me with.

I know how to change the look (i.e colour, image etc) of components as well as positions. But I do not know how to change the behaviour of certain things. For example, on the single QuickEPG (on the infobar) where we would press up/down to browse through events for a channel, instead of the events appearing one on top of the other, is it possible to make them appear one besides the other? Having a look at the code, a widget is used which is defined as a list. I don't know how I can change the behaviour of this widget.

Below is an image I found of the screen I am trying to edit. As you can see, the events appear one on top of another. I want them to appear besides eachother when I press up/down.

I am a programmer by trade so I don't have a problem programming things to suit my needs - if anything that is one of the beauties of a Linux box. Its just that I need some guidance on differentiating things that can be programmed via the skin and things that are built into the actual image.

Edit: In the event its coded into the image, how can I edit the python files when they have been optimised (.pyo files)?

abu baniaz
11-02-15, 13:54
To save you from looking at wrong place, that screen is called the FIB, first info bar. There are several options for it alreasy. It is followed by SIB, second info bar when you press OK again.

For info, on Vix image, most of the EPG systems have been coded to behave the same irrespective of which version of EPG you are on.

You can decompile the python files using a decompiler or download from github directly.

You may be able to edit options easily in by adding a short press of OK to invoke infobar EPG instead of FIB. Long press OK is there already.