PDA

View Full Version : New Box Help

Chunky
10-01-15, 17:23
Just got a VU+solo2 yesterday and managed to flash it with Vix using the excellent guides on here.

I have a Qnap nas and i want to use this to record to instead of using an internal hdd is this possible?.
I have managed to mount it to watch movies but i'm a total newbie so all advice much appreciated

pembo
10-01-15, 17:54
not tried this, but assume you can change the location under recordings settings to poin to the mounted location.
Just remember to press the 'MENU' button on the remote to change to the filelist so you can add a new bookmark location.

Chunky
10-01-15, 18:24
Thanks for the reply. Just had a quick bash but can't seem to change location in recording settings.
I delete bookmark then can't seem to put anything else in.

What else would you recommend to put on this box and how do I do it?.
Can't see YouTube add on or anything but I am still doing a lot a research at mo so any quick pointers would be much appreciated

Chunky
10-01-15, 20:28
Cheers Pembo followed your instructions and changed destination of recordings (I didn't press the menu button last time doh!)
Not recorded anything yet but can't see why it won't work.

Peterj
10-01-15, 20:32
are the access right correct on the Qnap?
Do you have write rights?

Chunky
10-01-15, 21:37
When I mounted nas to watch movies I signed in with admin account so I thought it would automatically roll over to recording section.
Will give it a test later. I've cancelled sky and now have about 7 days to rig this up or face the wrath of er indoors!!
Basically I just want to set it up as a freesat pvr that the missus can use but also connect to nas plus be able to play files recorded on nas(by solo2) on other say tvs and tablets.
Trying to read as much info as i can so any nudges in the right direction is very much appreciated

Peterj
10-01-15, 21:47
when you setup the mount, did you choose the option 'use as HD'?

Chunky
10-01-15, 21:53