PDA

View Full Version : Newbie confused about EPG possibilities

George Kildare
30-12-14, 20:19
I am a newbie who has no experience of enigma receivers and I'm thinking of purchasing an enigma2 receiver, such as the VUPlus Duo2. My provisional plan would be to get a double tuner for satellite reception (mainly UK FTA channels) together with a cable tuner for Ziggo (the Netherlands cable). It seems to be straightforward to construct favourite lists that combine channels from both.

I am confused about the epg possibilities and their relations to “skins”, if any. I would want to set up a combined 7-day epg for both the Ziggo and UK FTA channels (e.g. Freesat epg), preferably with a “series link” possibility. How easy is it to do this and what plugins or apps would I need? Would the epg apps download from the web or from satellite? Do I understand correctly that the OpenVIX skin is the easiest for working with the UK 7-day epg?

Very many thanks for any help you can give me about this. Sorry if these questions are already answered in other threads or if I should have posted this message elsewhere. Most of the information that I can find about this on the web is a few years old. I am willing to learn, am OK with computers, but am not very conversant with Linux.

Peterj
30-12-14, 20:34
Ziggo is broadcasting his own EPG in the streams. You will get it automatically. IIRC it is 3 days EPG.
There is no external provider for Ziggo EPG.

cactikid
30-12-14, 22:04
presuming user is in that area and not in uk?

George Kildare
31-12-14, 11:08