PDA

View Full Version : streaming vu+ solo2 when im not at home

arnie2014
05-10-14, 12:42
hi all

does anybody know how i can stream ym vu+ solo2 so that when im not at home i can watch my channels on any computer/laptop or mobile when im on the move.
iv heard you can do it but im not very technical so do not know how i do it.
i can stream perfectly fine when im at home

thank you all

timofee
05-10-14, 17:52
You do this by opening the necessary ports in your router.

But this leaves your box open to attack from the outside world, and if you are not technically minded it might be best to avoid this.

kiwiz1
05-10-14, 19:09
how to do this

arnie2014
05-10-14, 19:37
ok so how do I open the ports on my router, and im sure my security software and router firewall would try and stop any attack form the outside right?

spaceman
06-10-14, 14:11
might be worth a read of this -
site: i-have-a-dreambox.com/wbb2/thread.php?threadid=171199

timofee
06-10-14, 14:17
Your PC security software and router firewall would not help once you open the router ports - your VU+ box is completely open to the outside world. You can password protect access to the box, but even that may no stop an unwanted intrusion.

As to opening the ports, that varies depending on your router. Have a look at your router admin pages and read up what it says for your model.

imish
06-10-14, 17:20
Your PC security software and router firewall would not help once you open the router ports - your VU+ box is completely open to the outside world. You can password protect access to the box, but even that may no stop an unwanted intrusion.

As to opening the ports, that varies depending on your router. Have a look at your router admin pages and read up what it says for your model.

Agree. is there a better way of doing this? Vpn?

Larry-G
06-10-14, 17:37
Agree. is there a better way of doing this? Vpn?