PDA

View Full Version : Changing from BlackHole to Vix

alanos
11-09-14, 20:51
Hi, I bought a second-hand Vu+Duo from Fleabay last weekend, and have been playing around with it ever since.

I have read a lot of posts on forums like this one, and the general consensus is that Vix is much better than Black Hole, which I have found to be quite complicated and counter-intuitive. So I would like to wipe the box and install a Vix image, however I don't want to lose the Sly channels that are all working. Could someone please let me know which files I will need to back up before I flash the box, and also where I need to reinsert these files after the flash?

I m a total newbie to the satellite box scene, but I am very tech minded and competent with FTP etc.

Cheers in advance.

Alan

EDIT

Also I am worried I might brick the box, so is there a tutorial for flashing the image to my box? I mean, do I need to do a hard reset first or do I just go ahead and flash the image straight on there? Do I need to format the HDD? Which is the best image to use in the UK? Please help? Cheers again :-)

nsw9154
11-09-14, 21:12
Hello :wave: welcome to the forum check out the vix guides in the (Quick support menu section) all the information you will need is their :)

alanos
11-09-14, 22:03
Hi, thanks for the reply! Sorry for being dumb, but could you please link me to the relevant section? I have had a look through them but couldn't see a 'quick support menu' :-(
cheers

EDIT

Never mind, as soon as i posted my reply I spotted it!! thanks again

heyho
12-09-14, 08:09