PDA

View Full Version : PLEASE HELP! How to watch and record 2 different channels at the same time...

smoothsamu
19-08-14, 16:05
Hello everyone,

I am new to the "world of satellite", and I am not an expert in receivers, tuners, LNBs, ...

I have recently purchased a Receiver Gigablue HD800 UE Plus, and a satellite dish T-90 with 4 LNBs (1. Eutelsat Hot Bird 13.0E 2. Astra 19.2E 3. Astra 28.2E 4. Eutelsat 16.0E). Each LMB has one port and is connected to one cable, and the 4 cables go to a diseqc switch, whose Exit has only one cable, which goes into the TUNER A of the Gigablue Receiver.

Using an external hard drive (Western Digital - My Book Life), connected via Ethernet, I was able to record channels. But I am not able to watch one channel and record a second one, at the same time. As far as I know, I need a second Tuner (Tuner B), to do so (am I right?). My Gigablue Receiver has only TUNER A, so I need to buy a second tuner.

My question is: once I have 2 Tuners in my Receiver (TUNER A and TUNER B), how do I connect the cables? Is the one cable exiting the "switcher" of the LNBs enough, or do I need a second one?

Could you be so kind and explain to me, what exactly I need, in order to watch and record 2 channels at the same time?

Thank you in advance!

Best Regards,

smoothsamu

nsw9154
19-08-14, 17:23
Hello are your LNB's single or dual as you would need a separate feed going to the switches something like this -- just an example as you have 4 lnb's

s2tephen
19-08-14, 17:29
If you want to watch and record at the same time generally you need 2 tuners
Each tuner will have to be fed with its own cable so
1 x twin Lnb
2 cables to the tuners
2 tuners installed into the receiver.

Other way if you can only get one cable to receiver,

1 x twin Lnb
1 x Stacker De-stacker ( Google it or maybe on sponsor's site ? )
2 x tuners installed into receiver

smoothsamu
19-08-14, 18:30
Thank you!