PDA

View Full Version : Help with dual tuner choice

strebord
05-08-14, 20:22
I've been running a blade bm5000s for a few months now but the lack of dual tuners causes me problems so I'm looking to upgrade to a dual tuner E2 box.

Ideally I'm looking to spend as little as possible but could spend more if there is a compelling enough reason.

I've bracketed my potential purchases into price brackets with my limited (and maybe wrong) knowledge of each box and would welcome some feedback from more knowledgeable posters on my opinions and maybe some recommendations?

Around £150

Miraclebox Premium Mini HD Twin - seems OK, not really seen any negatives on it - possibly the one I'm leaning towards
TM Nano 2T - Driver problems?
Gigablue HD800 SE+ Digital twin - Don't know much about this

Around £200

TM-Nano 2 Super - Again driver issues?
VU+ Duo - getting on a bit, slower processor and maybe power supply issues?
Miraclebox Premium Twin HD - not seen too much on this - good or bad?
Gigablue HD800 UE+ Digital twin - Don't know much about this

Sub £300

Gigablue HD Quad+ - quick processor, looks good
Golden Interstar XPEED LX3 - I know nothing about this box
VU+ Solo 2 - everyone's favourite and the one I suspect I will be recommended to buy.

Anything I've missed that I should consider?

So the real question is will a £149 miraclebox be a good enough choice and if I'm going to spend more is it another £50 or so or more or less double and what would I be getting for the extra £££'s?

My other concern over spending big is if the SD channels go the same way as HD and I'm left with an expensive doorstop.

Any help really gratefully received. Thanks for reading

abu baniaz
06-08-14, 13:40
If you are going to buy a new receiver, best to buy newest generation. The 7335 CPU range is several years old. Still fine for normal viewing. Unfortunately, their price is holding and not really dropping which keeps the newer receivers priced higher.