PDA

View Full Version : vu solo green light + black screen...HELP ME!

vusolomax
29-04-14, 16:43
Hello!

I recently tried a software update and when it said "this may take a few minutes" left the thing but when I cam back I had a black screen. The remote won't do anything now and I have nothing but a solid green light on the solo box. The only way to turn it off is by unplugging. Please help me get back into my box.

I am a total novice so step by step (for dummies) would be helpful.

Thanks.

Larry-G
29-04-14, 16:57
Sorry but we need a little more info such as the image build you were using. Plus the obvious question, is the receiver a clone or a genuine unit ?.

Sent from my cyclone voyager using Tapatalk

vusolomax
29-04-14, 17:03
Hi! It's a genuine Solo. I have no idea on the image i was using or what build sorry! I got it from an ex-colleague but he has no idea either....great eh? I stupidly went to update the software and came back to a black screen. I've done some research and the web says to download "cfe_solo_2.0.zip" and reboot the box but I cannot find a single site that doesn't give me a decompression failure when I try downloading it. hellllllllllllllllp!

Larry-G
29-04-14, 17:18
I am not sure how you arrived at the conclusion that the receiver requires a bootloader update, but it does sound suspiciously like a clone to me.

If you for example had ViX on the receiver and used the online update option from within the image, it would not require a new bootloader and the bootloader for the original Vu+ solo was updated something like two years ago. It sounds to me like you'r receiver may have updated the newer anti clone drivers which is why it wont power on. but we would need to know definitively if it is a clone or not ( we cant offer support for clones ).

you can get the bootloader from www.openvix.co.uk if you are still certain it needs a bootloader update.

boysheff
29-04-14, 18:26