PDA

View Full Version : lost picons on my vu solo 2

lyndon70
28-02-14, 01:54
Hi,
Can anyone help me to restore the picons on my vu solo 2 it also got a hdd installed.
I updated my local area to HTV Wales HD and create AutoPicon Links in the AutoBouquets setup.
Links..... /usr/share/enigma2/picon
Location...... /media/hdd/picon
since doing this I've lost the picons that was already pre installed on the box.

On the plugins I got Rats DW Picon updater.. which it locates the picon which finds the directory /usr/share/enigma2/picon /media/hdd/picon
It says its updated the picons but I cant seem to get them to show on my EPG..
I'm new to all this and would be grateful if you could help me get around this problem.
THANKYOU:confused:

abu baniaz
28-02-14, 02:20
Firstly, you should not be using the HDD as it is the slowest storage medium. You have plenty of internal memory, use that. Can you also confirm you run AB once without the autopicons enabled.

1. Remove any existing picon folders.
2. Create a new picon folder on the internal memory.
3. Run rats Picon updater/or manually transfer the picons.

4. Make sure picons are working.

5. Alter picon/link locations in Autobouquets so that they match your locations.
6. Run Autobouquets. You should not need to worry about updating picons for a long time.

Larry-G
28-02-14, 02:24
as Abu says the HDD is not recommended as a suitable storage medium for picons as it can add upto 5 seconds zap time due to the HDD having to spin up to load the picon on each channel change.

lyndon70
28-02-14, 02:47
:confused:Thank you for your reply Abu,
I bought the box already set up so I think it run without autopicons enabled.

1 How do I Remove any existing picon folders I cant locate them on there,just going around in circles looking

2 how do I Create a new picon folder on the internal memory.

sorry but i'm new to all this and i'm frightened I'll del something and brick my box..
need a step by step guide on how to do it please.
thankyou