PDA

View Full Version : Signing up

MalteseMick
06-11-10, 02:32
Hi,

Although very inexperienced with developing images for Linux STB I have been developing software in various languages for about 8 years and I'd like to try sign up to contribute to this project, as a hobby.

At this point I'm probably going to be asking more questions than I'm answering but I'm keen to know if I could help in any way?

thanks,
Mick

andyblac
06-11-10, 18:37
Hi,

Although very inexperienced with developing images for Linux STB I have been developing software in various languages for about 8 years and I'd like to try sign up to contribute to this project, as a hobby.

At this point I'm probably going to be asking more questions than I'm answering but I'm keen to know if I could help in any way?

thanks,
Mick

what coding language do you know ?, the main enigma2 and all plugins are coded in python. i knew nothing about about python at all, when we started our ViX image,

so if you want to help out, that great and would be welcome, but if i where you i would start my looking at the plguin folder open up some .py files and search the net and see if you can understand any of it. i just dont really have the time to start to train anyone, i don't mean to sound harsh, it just i at present am the sole coder, and we all have lives, but if you can understand it. i have coupe if little plugin projects that you code try to code. but i don't really want to give anyone access to our code without knowing you.

hope you understand :)

pooface
06-11-10, 19:40
As andy says, if you've got some programming experience it should be quite easy to pick up.

I haven't had any experience of python either, but from my c/c+ experience, I can kind of understand the code. Biggest problem I have is getting the time to do any coding...

Managed to get a sample plugin running, but not had time to work on any real polygons yet :-(

So if you can fill us in with any experience you have...

MalteseMick
07-11-10, 16:13