PDA

View Full Version : [VU+ Ultimo] Downmix & Onkyo TX NR-626 issues or just myself!

leeski
20-12-13, 15:38
Hi & Happy Christmas to all…

I have been using Vix & my old Onkyo 606 amp fine for the past 16 months with no problems as far as I could tell. We have however just moved rooms with my av setup and in the process I managed to get a new amp (Onkyo 626). Whilst everything works fine the sound volume was slightly low and not giving me the wow factor I was expecting.

A short fumble with the settings found the audio downmix was selected 'On'. Hey presto, turning it off & everything booms as it should & the VU+ & Onkyo sing in perfect harmony… until… the wife switched to bbc4 or some other reality drivel on tv and because there is no AC3 soundtrack… she has no sound through the amp. Audio options and selecting down mix 'On' again does give some sound through the amp but only very low, the volume has to be turned up pretty high to hear anything (on the vu+ & amp). This is a problem because as soon as we switch back to an ac3 channel… BOOM! the volume is enough to wake the dead.

Am I doing something completely stupid (probably) or am I stuck with only switching on the amp when I want to watch a movie or sports etc. that broadcast in ac3?

To compound the situation our beloved 6 year old pioneer kuro does not like ac3 so to enable the speakers on the tv to work when the amp is off requires the vu+ downmix 'On' again… I seem to be forever toggling with this setting… something I can't remember ever doing with the old amp (which leads me to believe down mix was always on then too!)

I feel that to leave down mix 'on' is my best option and then turn it off when I want to watch something decent… but I have to remember to switch it back on again before turning off the amp… even leaving the amp on causes problems for herself due to the volume change between ac3 & mpeg…

Any help greatly appreciated…

Cheers

Sicilian
20-12-13, 15:58
Please post correct build number.