PDA

View Full Version : How to spot a Cloned VU+ DUO

degoosefish
19-10-13, 21:50
HI I just came across a friend who has a VU+ DUO twin tuner installed which is supporting Blackhole I want to put Vix Image onto the box but I am terrified of bricking the box if it is a clone. I honestly believe that it is a genuine Vu Duo but I would like to be able to complete a couple of checks for piece of mind. Can anyone tell me how I can check to ensure it is an official vu receiver
He claims that he was told that the box is a VU DUO but I can't verify. I have no experience of Clones so I don't know what to look for I can only imagine that the serial number should be a start but do the clone people clone the serial also ?? help please thanks

Larry-G
19-10-13, 22:45
a good place to start would be to see if there are any stickers identifying it as a particular version 1.0, 2.0, 3.0 etc. also if there are any stickers pointing towards a web address.

degoosefish
19-10-13, 23:35
will do I was hoping someone would outline a couple of key features that definitely give it away. I see some pictures on internet with different pcb boards but i just need something that is a clear indication so I can flash it with vix

judge
19-10-13, 23:43
Just flash it with the latest version on http://openvix.co.uk
If it doesn't work, all you'll need to do is reflash with a 'clone safe' version, at which stage we would have to stop offering support.

degoosefish
20-10-13, 10:12
I appreciate the feedback and I really don't want to flash it unless it is an original vu is there any component or feature on or in the box of a vu duo which will clearly not be on a cloned unit.

saxon
20-10-13, 10:29
one way you could tell if its a clone they always come with a RS232 Board + RS232 Cable ask your friend if one was included when he bought his duo and have a
look at the instruction booklets always feel really cheap.
Where s the VU+ manuals are of good quality

degoosefish
21-10-13, 23:12