PDA

View Full Version : Newbie question.

king9fisher
08-09-13, 10:24
First off - I wanted to say "thanks" to you guys for all your help and support. (I have already donated some money :) )

I am a total newbie to satellites, receivers, images, bouquets (which I always thought involved flowers), etc. and so I have been reviewing this forum for some time and educating myself. I am a new owner of a TM-Twin OE, having recently moved to southern Germany, and have access to Astra 19.2E (for the German channels) and 28.2E (for the English channels).

I have just installed the latest VIX image (3.0.734) after trying OpenPLi 3.0 for a few weeks and having multiple problems with it such as inability to playback recordings, problems with configuration settings (mostly due to my incomprehension of them!) and problems with channels seeming to "disappear" with "Tune failed" and "SID not in PAT" messages..... urgh. Of course this might not be a problem with OpenPLi and more with the drivers that Technomate ships, however either way I was still suffering and cursing the box.

I am hoping that the VIX image goes someway to providing a degree of stability.

I have two immediate questions....
(1) I have been looking at Dreambox Edit as a tool to edit and control the number of channels displayed. Is this a good tool to use or would you recommend something else?
(2) I would really like to be able to stream live TV from the receiver to other computers or to an ipad across my ethernet LAN. I did some investigation and XMBC seems like a useful open source tool to show streaming. I installed XMBC and the VU+/Enigma2 PVR client, but I am not having much success (connection fails). Am I approaching this in the correct way? Could someone who has done this before recommend how best to do this?

Thanks all.

Stanman
08-09-13, 16:23
1. DBE is fine. You can use the built in autobouquetmaker to configure 28.2E channels and it also does sly Deutschland