PDA

View Full Version : Vu+ Duo2 and blindscan

eastof111
17-08-13, 08:01
I am contemplating getting a Duo2 with two tuners. Has anyone experimented with blind scan yet? Looking for real life reviews.

2- Does the blind scan work on one or both tuners?
3- Anyone have blind scanning times for both C and Ku vs. non-blind scanning?
4- Do scanning times differ between images utilized?

Thank you and appreciate your input.

Rob van der Does
17-08-13, 10:29
ad 2: On both. However: the dual tuners still don't support blindscan (VU+ is working an a driver update for that)

ad 3: Not sure what you're after; scanning transponders that are present in your satellites.xml has hardly anything to do with blindscan. And any comparison you would do depends on the satellites.xml in use.
I have no experience on C-band scanning, but Ku-band blindscan works fine.

ad 4: Probably not, as the same hardware and drivers are being used. What does differ between images is the user friendlyness of the plugin. In ViX a lot of effort has been spend on the latter.

eastof111
19-08-13, 06:41
Thank you very much for your input. In regards to ad 3, I am trying to get an approximate hardware vs. software scan speed as compared to other receivers that I am using. I realize that scan speeds will vary between sats scanned, but it would give me a ball park figure that I can use to evaluate.

Rob van der Does
19-08-13, 07:17
The blindscan of 19.2E took 2 mins 10 sec; result attached (104 transponders found).

manikm
19-08-13, 08:30
Are the tuners hardware blindscan?

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 4

Rob van der Does
19-08-13, 09:47
Yes.

The dual-tuner cards still need a (promised) driver update for that.

eastof111
20-08-13, 01:20
Thanks for the xml file. Didn't know that it still needs drivers for hardware blind scan support. After reading some of the reviews, I was left with the impression that the blind scans performed were hardware related.

Thanks again.

Rob van der Does
20-08-13, 05:18