PDA

View Full Version : Some tips and some questions!!!

fulabeer
12-10-10, 19:27
Hi
I've had my VU+ DUO for a couple of weeks now.
I very new to all this, but thanks to lots of support here i'm up and running.

Because i'm a newbie, i've had to learn everything from scratch.
Some things that are simple for the veterans, are just not obvious for us newbies.

One thing i wanted to try was to streaming from my Duo to other PCs around the house.
Well i cannot believe how simple it is. (once you know your boxes IP address)

First you need to find out the "IP" address of your box.
Either go in to your routers setup menu and select "connected devices". Your DUO should be called BM750. Your DUOs IP will be something like 172.165.0.3 etc

Or you can find it using the DUOs own menu.
Click MENU on the remote and then -> Setup - System - Network - Adaptor settings
Under "current settings" you will see "IP Address" then "172.165.0.3" or what ever your box is set to.

That was the hard bit!

Go to your chosen PC and in internet explorers broswer just type in the DUOs IP address.
This will launch Vu+ Control in the browser.
Apart from many other things, you will find a channel list.
Click the channel of choice or at the top of the menu is the" current channel".
When you are happy, click the "small TV screen Icon" next to the channel you want.
This will launch media player, press play to start streaming the channel.
I've found the quality of HD channels to be fantastic.
There is also a "remote" in the options available to control the box.
You can even send a message to the main box, which will show "on screen". (great for requesting the wife to bring more beer!)
You will find sometimes media player doesn't want to work properly. Somebody here mentioned increasing the cache in media player, but i haven't worked out what they mean yet.
Either way, i just keep trying it until it works

There are other things in Vu+ control, so go have a play!