PDA

View Full Version : A couple of noob questions in advance of receiving solo2 box

CS10
19-06-13, 20:59
Hi all,
My Solo2 box will be delivered tomorrow from the forum sponsor.

As I said in my intro post, I'm new to all of this so really looking forward to the challenge.

As soon as I get the box, I want it flashing with the Vix latest image.

This seems pretty straight forward (just using the usb pen which I have already prepared).

A couple of other questions though:

1/ With regards to plugins, or these simple to install? Can I basically download any plugin from the Enigma 2 plugin download section?
To install these, do I have to ftp them to the receiver and install them using on screen prompts?

2/ If I want to use my sky subscription in the receiver, do I do this by using a Softcam plugin, and can these be found in the plugin section too?

Thanks in advance,
Craig

Larry-G
19-06-13, 21:23
Flashing the receiver is a very easy task ( Tutorial included ).

Some plugins will only work with certain images but ViX has a fairly well stocked plugins feed built rite into the image which can be accessed by going to Menu> Plugins> Green button to download, softcams however are not included but you can get them from www.openvix.co.uk and if you have your own sky card we can help you set it up ( if you dont have a card we cant help with that sorry ).

CS10
19-06-13, 21:26
Hi there and thank you for the reply.

That's great, didn't realise there was a feed actually in vix!

Regarding the softcam plugin, I'll download them from the link you gave, but how do I then install them?

Yes I have a sky card with active subscription.

Does vix have a channel list or will I need to install one?

Thanks again.
Craig

judge
19-06-13, 21:51
You can either ftp the softcam to /tmp/ on the receiver, then blue button -> ViX -> Install local extension