PDA

View Full Version : Vu+ Duo Twin Tuner on Standard $ky Dish

thedoctor46
30-05-13, 12:48
Hi,
I'm looking to get myself a new box to replace my standard $ky Box, the Vu+Duo ticked most boxes for me the twin tuner function is very important as I need to be able to recrod something for me while the Mrs watches her stuff.
I'll be running on a standard $ky fixed dish for a while then getting a motored one after the summer. I have seen that it will work on the dish but I am unclear on weather the twin tuner will work correctly something to do with LNB and cables from the dish.

My dish was fitted i think in June July last year, as I know they have varied slightly over the years. And it has a single cable running to the receiver which splits in 2 just before you plug into the box. I could probably get a picture of the dish to upload here if it needs to be seen.

Please excuse my ignorance on terminology and things i'm very new to the Sat world and am learning all the time :)

Any help will be greatly received.

Best regards

abu baniaz
30-05-13, 12:53
That cable is called shotgun cable. It is two cables stuck together.

garyblas
30-05-13, 12:54
I use Vu+ Duo on my Standard Sky dish works perfectly. But if was buying now would upgrade to the Vu Solo 2 does all Duo functions but faster response.

thedoctor46
30-05-13, 13:08
Thanks for replying,

Yeah I looked at those also they were on my list. So you can record 1 channel while watching another just through the standard Dish and Shotgun (thanks abu) cable? From what I have read elsewhere i says I need dual LNB for the second tunerwhich I'm not sure how to tell if I have or not.

StuBFrost
30-05-13, 13:14
If you can record 2 different channels at the same time on your Sky box now you will be able to do it on the VU+.

Also, if you are planning on getting motorised later it may be better to look at a box that can take 3 tuners (eg Ultimo).

Sicilian
30-05-13, 13:23