PDA

View Full Version : Regarding the closed thread: Image Backup Scripts for VU+DUO Dream Elite images only

Hamram
06-10-10, 19:05
As the thread is closed, I don't know where to address this issue, but hopefully I may get some advice here.

I just want to find out how these scripts are supposed to work. I've tried to make a USB-backup, but little seems to happen. That is, I get a message on the screen, which ends like this...
swapon: /media/usb/backup/swapfile_backup: Invalid argument
swap activated
----------------------------------------
Image backup started : 19:12:13-
----------------------------------------
Create boot....

Aso, aso... Until it pops up a message telling me that the job is done. Only, the USB-stick is still empty... Am I doing something wrong? Using my FTP, I could see that there's generated a few files under the mentioned folder. Am I maybe supposed to manually transfer those to the USB-stick..?

In short; I'm a newbie, and any help would be just great! I'm pleased with the DE 1.3.3 image, but it sure would've been fun to try something else as well. Before I do, I just need to know that I have a backup of the existing image, all settings included. :confused:

Thanx!

sonc
07-10-10, 16:13
I had problems with this too. If you don't have a harddisk installed (I'm presuming you don't?), then the usb stick will be mounted on /media/hdd. That's why the swapon command is failing, and why the USB stick remain empty.

Also you need to have the usb stick in the receiver when you install the ipk package as it creates the backup directory and installs some files on it.

Hamram
07-10-10, 18:51
I had problems with this too. If you don't have a harddisk installed (I'm presuming you don't?), then the usb stick will be mounted on /media/hdd. That's why the swapon command is failing, and why the USB stick remain empty.