PDA

View Full Version : Clarification for a n00b

nwootton
12-04-13, 10:06
Firstly let me say hello - this is the first post on this particular forum - although relatively technical, I'm beginning to dip my toe in these waters, so excuse obvious questions.

Secondly let me state this up front. I have a full, paid for, subscription to my UK satellite service.

My current box is starting to misbehave and I'm looking to purchase a replacement that I can setup to use my current card. I'm leaning towards a VU+ Duo/Enigma2 box with the appropriate VIX image. Now for the questions! Some of these are clarifications of things I've found in other posts and forums, but they are either not stated explicitly, refer to older images/firmware or even seem to contradict each other!

1) With the correct setup, will the new box update the subscription card with its entitlements or will I have to move it back to the original box for a 'manual' update?
2) Can I record from a VU+ box across a wired network to a central file store (in this case unRAID)? Is this advisable for HD content? Any idea of bandwidth requirements? Is it better to record locally and then transfer?
3) Are these recordings the pure transport stream (.ts) or are they some other file type or format?
4) Are recordings 'in the clear' or do they still require decryption from the original box/card to view?
5) If they are 'in the clear' are there any recommendations for software that allows for cropping, advert removal of these HD files?
6) Anyone tried the XBMC VU+ PVR plugin? Is it any good?

Thanks in advance.

nix

josh_g
12-04-13, 10:15
:hello: and :welcome:

i would spend the extra cash and get a solo2 much newer and faster than the duo!

1) yes you can i assume you have sky so search boxkey
2) yes you can im sure there is guide in the sticky section
3) yes they are .ts files
4) they are decrypted and can be watched when ever or on whatever