PDA

View Full Version : Best HD receiver for me

alihaq
22-11-12, 12:54
Hi Guys (and gals)

I would very much appreciate it if you could point me in the right direction for a receiver which best matches my needs. I'm a complete noob to this so please bear with me..:confused:

My budget is £200 max. I am being drawn to the Alien 2 at present due to the price and features available.

What I'm really after is

HD
Twin tuners
Stream content from NAS or PC (DLNA or Shared folder)
Stream content from BBC iPlayer, 4OD etc

Please can you advise which would be the best box for me?

Thanks in advance!:D

Mr. Mister
22-11-12, 13:02
If you budget is £200 then you have no other option but to go for the Alien..

Me personally.. I would not touch it.. But there are others who do like this box..

If it were me.. i would save my pennys for another few weeks.. and get myself a Technomate Twin.. or a Vu+ Duo..

alihaq
22-11-12, 14:55
Thanks for the quick response mate.

Why would you not go for the Alien 2 box?

Has anyone got an Alien 2 box that can share some insights?

Stanman
22-11-12, 22:22
Its not a proper E2 box though from the net, the sparks side works fine and its no way near as versatile as a proper E2 box such as DUO, TM Twin or Gigablue quad

marty
22-11-12, 22:26
Why not look out for a used DUO, I'm guessing that there will be a few on the market with people upgrading to newer boxes ;)
The DUO is still a VERY capable box with years left in it :thumbsup:

Sicilian
23-11-12, 06:35
Or the Technomate TM-Twin-OE, pm the sponsor see what deal he can offer ;)

irishchris
23-11-12, 11:20
i would second the twin. it had few problems in its early days but now its one of my most reliable recievers and comes in at a good price too :)
ps dont forget the members discount on wos :thumbsup:

sent from my Samsung Galaxy S3 using tapatalk 2

josh_g
23-11-12, 16:26