PDA

View Full Version : VU+ Solo VTI Cross EPG alternative

jimbolgs
07-11-12, 00:25
Hello, I've just bought and setup a VU+ Solo with VTI image which was recommended to me as a replacement for my OpenBox S9. However, Cross EPG is a bit crap and I was hoping for something a bit more graphic like you'd get on a Sky or Freeview box.

Are there any alternatives to Cross EPG?

Thanks in advance.

Larry-G
07-11-12, 00:28
I cant speak for VTI as i have frankly never used it, but i can say that in my opinion, and yes i am biased but in my opinion the ViX image has the single best EPG you will find any where barring and often including a official SKY issued receiver.

judge
07-11-12, 00:33
As pheonix suggests, i'd try VIX if you want great EPG.
I am biased too, but tried all images & settled on VIX for good.
Download the latest version from http://www.world-of-satellite.com/enigma2/openvix/
Try it out and see what you think.

jimbolgs
07-11-12, 00:43
The trouble is I'm very new to all this and don't know how to do it. The guy that recommended the box is far more experienced with these things and he tried and couldn't get VIX working. Is there a step-by-step guide somewhere that I could try? And what if I can't get it working — how could I revert back?

jimbolgs
07-11-12, 01:07
Ok, I found a tutorial (click here) (http://www.satpimps.com/showthread.php?135633-How-to-flash-Vu-Solo-with-USB-Pen-Drive) which is a couple of years old... does this sound credible?

Also, with VIX, can I still use iDreamX to add channel bouquets?

Sorry for so many questions.

tomthebomb1968
07-11-12, 12:06
Havent used VTI for a while but is crosseepg not just the mechanism of getting the epg data to your receiver, which it does very well. To display the data in the form you want you need to download something like Cooltvguide plugin. Or just use the VIX image .

pooface
07-11-12, 13:31