PDA

View Full Version : Vu+ solo

mondo
05-10-12, 23:28
Hello everybody,

I am new to this site and I have been reading through and I find it extremely informative and interesting.

I am no expert in this field ( in fact someone else has set it up for me) and therefore I have some queries which I am sure will be answered. The person who set it up for me told me to shut it down and switch it off every time I am finished with it for a long time.

Reading the manual it is recommended that you leave your box on standby. I do not like to do that and therefore I am shutting it down and switching it off from the power plug, as has been told to do. Is it OK if I do this and do I have to leave it for a certain number of minutes before I switch off the power? After all this is a computer and needs to be shutdown.

When the first times I put it on STAND BY I found out that it was on when I went to watch TV the following day. Will this happen if I put it on DEEP STAND BY?

Now in my menu, there is only STAND BY? Do I put it on DEEP STAND BY through the Sleeptimer or is there another way?

Would appreciate your help.

Many thanks
mondo

judge
05-10-12, 23:33
What image are you using?
Long press power button should give you all the options you need.
I leave a Solo on for weeks without issue.
Only time it gets a reboot is when I update the image.

mondo
06-10-12, 23:27
Many thanks for your quick reply.

As I said I am not an expert and somebody else set up the receiver for me.

Therefore, I have to ask what you mean by "image".

However, I shall try the long press on the power button.

Thanks again

basilyoung
06-10-12, 23:34
image is the user interface...ie, VIX/BLACKHOLE a bit like windows,

mondo
10-10-12, 10:11
My image is BLACKHOLE.

Now if I shut the box down every time I am finished with it and will not use it until the following day, is that OK? Will it harm the software?

Thanks

Larry-G
11-10-12, 05:40