PDA

View Full Version : fastfwd/rewind issue !

mrmad1966
22-08-12, 14:01
Folks I have an existing Samba server on my home network with hundreds of movies on.. The network is 100 Mb and the movies play fine however, they do not ff or rw correctly. When pressing the relevant remote control button eg fastforward, even at x128 the movie only 'jumps' a couple of seconds at a time.

Just looking for others thoughts. A limitation of network bandwidth, or possibly a SATA limitation? (I don't think this as the local SATA drive installed is just fine !)

What do you lot think ?
---------------------------

PS If the forum user Bowz is reading this ITS NOT USER ERROR :-)

sivhead
22-08-12, 14:26
Is the case for all movies. Couple of questions 1) how are the movies encoded (what are the file extenstions). 2) What image do you have installed on your VuDuo. Are you using any plugins to play the movies ?

mrmad1966
22-08-12, 15:04
Hi
Mp4 and avi, on Vix 2.4.
No third party plugins..

Thanks

Rob van der Does
22-08-12, 15:06
Is the case for all movies. Couple of questions 1) how are the movies encoded (what are the file extenstions). 2) What image do you have installed on your VuDuo. Are you using any plugins to play the movies ?
Good questions. Most of the times it's the encoding of the files, that is not done correct (i.e. not fully supported by the box). But indeed: using plugins for playback can also cause this.

Best option is to re-encode the files (use h264) and not to use any playback/MM-centre plugins (they are not needed).

pooface
22-08-12, 15:24
As a first test, can you try copying the file over to a internal USB or HDD? This will allow you to see whether there are any problems at all when using the file itself. If so, then it looks likely to be the file encoding. If it works ok, then it's likely to be network or samba issues...

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

sivhead
22-08-12, 15:26