PDA

View Full Version : VU+ Uno Newbie Questions

Remrem
05-06-12, 22:41
Hi All

I’m about to buy a VU+ Uno but has some question about the product that some of you might easy answer.

First I’m totally new to boxes as VU+, so please bear with me for asking stupid questions :)

The boxes I’m consider buying is the VU+ Uno with a DVB-C tuner as I’m getting my signal through a cable provider. I have a NAS (readyNas) where movies are stored in different files types.

My questions to the VU+ Uno are:

#1: What kind of files type would the VU+ Uno as a Media Player “out of the box” be able to play? I can read in the manual that it will play JPG, MP3, AVI, etc. but is this all?!?

I need it to play some of the formats like .MKV, .mpg, .avi, .wmv, .divx, .vob, .tp, .ts, .trp, .dat, .iso, .ifo, .m2ts, .mov, .flv, .rm, .rmvb, .asf, .mts, .mpeg4 - Will the VU+ Uno do this, or how many of these formats are supported?

#2: I have read a lot about different Firmwares that you can install to your VU+ Uno (like VTi), but what do I gain by installing a different Firmware, and if upgraded can you go back to the firmware that was installed from factory?

#3: The reason for buying a VU+ Uno is to get rid of the old HD recorder and get a box that could play movies from my NAS, and be able to record tv programs to one box only. Will the VU+ uno do this job, and what is your long time user experience with this box?

Thanks for your time, and your feedback

Best Regards

Remrem

judge
05-06-12, 22:53
1) The VU will never play all file formats but is getting seriously better at supporting different formats on each new driver/kernel release, it all depends on the encoding used.
2) You can always go back to factory default but you will end up with less features. Can't speak for VTI images, but once you get used to VIX images (& yes I am biased) you probably won't want any other image...
3) Any VU box will do this perfectly.

basilyoung
05-06-12, 22:54