PDA

View Full Version : Feed Hunting System and Motorised Dish advice - Many Questions! Help please

AthleticsNut
13-05-12, 00:17
Hello everyone,

Based on the feed finding system I could get around 20+ athletics meets I wouldn't get on UK TV which would like it worthwhile for me.
I must stress I am still a novice hence why I don’t know most of these things but I am learning surely but surely.
I know for what I want to do I will need a motorised dish. I will most likely want to put it into the ground or place it on the grass in my garden.
Also I want to watch everything through my PC. Reason being is that I’ll rather save the shows/broadcasts I want to keep on the Hard Drive rather than put things on lots and lots of DVDs. I can assure you I will be very grateful for all of your assistance so if you can help me please do :)

1) HD PVR Questions
• Can I get one which Records one channel or feed whilst I watch another.
• Will I be able to save channels on it such as freesat channels and other European channels under numbers or an organised list?
• How would I connect the PVR to my PC so do my viewing through my PC

2) PC Card Questions
• I was thinking of buying a BGT3600 Premium multi-tuner PCI express card. This allows you to watch freeview and satellite (Not sure if it’s just Freesat or Satellite, I think that it is both). Would I be able to use this instead of receiver? That way I have more space and also.
• Another Reason why I ask is because I want to be able to record and keep whatever I record. With BGT3600 I know I will. A PVR will normally record programs to hard drive but they are recorded in a special format which cannot be read on a PC so therefore cannot be edited watched like any other video file.

3) Do you know of another PC Satellite Viewing card that does Blind Scans? Whilst writing I just realised I haven’t researched it with regards to the BGT3600