PDA

View Full Version : total newbie unsure what firmware i have

huhana
12-05-12, 01:38
total newbie

Need some help as seller (xx-xxx-xx) not responding. i bought vu+ duo (not clone)

i'm unsure what firmware i have been sold. it says:

version Nov 8 2011 -vuplus_experimental

Image: experimental 2011-11-08

what firmware is this?

I would like to upgrade or completely change firmware, vix, pli, etc

Can I do this on line and if so how? link to instructions etc?

Also is it easier just to flash?

Will new flash/firmware replace deleted root/password from folder? (accidentally...long story and completely lost all ftp / telnet access) 'change root password' plugin ineffectual as folder gone!

thankyou for your help

Stanman
12-05-12, 11:10
Please do not post multiple threads asking the same question across the forum.

Thanks.

Larry-G
12-05-12, 11:26
total newbie

Need some help as seller (xx-xxx-xx) not responding. i bought vu+ duo (not clone)

i'm unsure what firmware i have been sold. it says:

version Nov 8 2011 -vuplus_experimental

what firmware is this?

I would like to upgrade or completely change firmware, vix, pli, etc

Can I do this on line and if so how? link to instructions etc?

Also is it easier just to flash?

Will new flash/firmware replace deleted root/password from folder? (accidentally...long story and completely lost all ftp / telnet access) 'change root password' plugin ineffectual as folder gone!

thankyou for your help

To be honest i'm not really sure what image that refers to but not to worry as It is a very easy process to flash a new image to the receiver Via a USB stick, however as your image is dated last November you would be wise to also update your bootloader to the latest version ( V3.0 ) before you flash the image it self.

The process of flashing the receiver with a new image is basically the same as loading a new OS to a PC so yes it will erase all previous settings and passwords.