PDA

View Full Version : Duo Vix 2.3 memory full?

Returner70
10-05-12, 23:48
Hi can anyone help?

I have a VU+ Duo bought from WOS and it arrived yesterday, it has the latest Vix image 2.3 with 3.1.1 kernel, build 204.

I am a complete novice and trying to find my way around this amazing box of tricks but after updates and trying to sort out the EPG it keeps crashing and will not reboot properly, it just hangs.
I cannot find anywhere to free up the memory, which i've seen it state was a problem when it hung.
Can anyone point me in the right direction.
Thanks in advance.

judge
10-05-12, 23:52
Are you downloading EPG to the internal flash?

Returner70
11-05-12, 00:00
Yes i think i did by mistake yesterday as i didnt expect it to fill up to be honest.
I installed a hdd before i plugged it in and thought that anything it downloaded would be setup to save to that.
I've read on another forum there is an ipk that cleans the memory as it stated some of the du's have a memory leak with this latest image?
I've hit a brick wall now.

basilyoung
11-05-12, 00:06
if you do a hard restart,...power down, ie; switch off the unit, then afer a minute or so..restart the unit, this should fix the problem for now

Returner70
11-05-12, 00:13
Hi thanks for the reply, iv'e had to do that a few time now and it doesn't appear to make any diference.
I'll give it another go now and see how i get on.

Mr. Mister
11-05-12, 00:31
Change the destination of where you want the EPG to save to..

Instead of Internal flash.. Change it to media hdd..

Returner70
11-05-12, 00:37
Hi, I've already tried that earlier and it crashed and rebooted and i checked the settings which had gone back to default.
I've also just done a cold reboot as suggested above and tried to copy a .cfg file over to the etc folder but i'm continually getting not enough space.
I'm using a mac btw and the duo is in the finder so its already mapped and easy enough to copy and paste files either on to the hdd or the root.

Returner70