PDA

View Full Version : Can the Uno record a different channel to the one you're currently watching?

Worthy
15-04-12, 17:56
Hi,

Apologies if this has been asked before but I'm new to all this Linux receiver business and I couldn't find the answer from scouring the forums.

Basically I understand the Uno has a single tuner (hence the name!), but from looking at pictures of the back of it, it looks like you can attach two LNB inputs. Does this mean you can watch one channel whilst recording another (ala Sky+) or would I require a box with two tuners for this?

Cheers

Rob van der Does
15-04-12, 17:58
Only one input can be connected: the other connector is a 'loop through'(for connecting to another box).
But: the UNO is indeed capable of that, as long as both channels are on the same transponder.

Worthy
15-04-12, 18:08
Fantastic news! From a single input cable too? Call me a dunce but what do you mean by the same transponder? I assume each service (Sky, Viasat etc) are each on the same transponder?

Thirdly - does that mean I spent all day yesterday getting lung cancer from the asbestos in the loft to run a second cable from the dish into the living room, for nothing? :)

Rob van der Does
15-04-12, 18:12
1- Have a look at Lyngsat.com or one of the other satellite info sites
3- No idea, but getting asbestos is never a good idea.........

Stanman
15-04-12, 18:13
Each sat has many Transponder so on Sky you could not record bbc1 and Sly preimere hd as on diff TP.

Since you got the cable, could always buy a USB tuner

Larry-G
15-04-12, 18:17
Fantastic news! From a single input cable too? Call me a dunce but what do you mean by the same transponder? I assume each service (Sky, Viasat etc) are each on the same transponder?

Thirdly - does that mean I spent all day yesterday getting lung cancer from the asbestos in the loft to run a second cable from the dish into the living room, for nothing? :)

look here.

http://en.kingofsat.net/pos-28.2E.php