PDA

View Full Version : Question for Andy,Phoenix and the rest of the Vix Team.

Dell_XPS
06-04-12, 13:32
How difficult would it be to add a lock feature to the main menu so nobody can change any of the settings etc.
Guy over at DK was wondering, I said I would ask the question over here, thanks in advance guys.

punisher
06-04-12, 13:35
as in like pin protect the access to main menu and the vix menu?

Larry-G
06-04-12, 13:36
yeah i saw the thread in question a little earlier although as i'm not a coder i really have no idea how difficult or not it would be to implement this kind of parental lock feature. It would be a nice addition to any image though to be able to fully lock the vital parts of the image down and child proof it.

Larry-G
06-04-12, 13:37
as in like pin protect the access to main menu and the vix menu?

pretty much yes. a method to stop prying eyes or fingers from going into any setup critical areas of the image such as tuner setup or the blue button menu or even the menu button it self without first needing a pin number. There are some parental controls but no E2 based image has to my knowledge a fully functioning parental control setup.

TK4|2|1
06-04-12, 14:13
Go into configuration and change menu to simple, that will remove most advanced features.

Sent from my iThing, using sorcery and the magic interweb.

satmanbasil
06-04-12, 15:45
Hi
@TK4
Thats fine but i think some members wish a more secure way using password protect to stop access rather than hide the advance features.

Dell_XPS
06-04-12, 16:43
A lock on entering the main menu would be great, then once in the menu you can navigate to whatever you need to do, ( ie press menu on remote, then input pin lock code, then menu's open up).

vuduo123
07-04-12, 13:32
hi guys,

dell_xps highly recommended this forum and i'm not disappointed.