PDA

View Full Version : [ViX_Misc] Manuals, FAQ and N00b-friendlyness

walterw
19-03-12, 17:42
Hi everybody,

I'm currently looking for an integrated media center+pvr solution and stumbled onto VIX - well, a friend mentioned it to me. I would now like to find out what VIX can exactly do in order do decide which way to take. A user manuals would be perfect for that purpose...

Apparently, this proves to be a little difficult. I was browsing and searching this forum and the web, but couldn't find any manual or "product presentation" FAQ for VIX. There are lots of HOWTOs on how to install software packages i never heard of (without mentioning their use, btw.), but nothing where a complete beginner or someone who wants to find out anything about VIX prior to buying a compatible device could start.

Either that, or i am blind/dense/plain stupid. Or simply using the wrong search keywords.

IS there any document that could enlighten me?

Larry-G
19-03-12, 18:36
There is no FAQ for ViX it self as such Due to the nature of the image as it's constantly in a state of evolution and growth and also due to the shear amount of time such a project would require. we can however answer any questions you have in relation to ViX and the specific hardware you are looking at purchasing.

walterw
19-03-12, 22:05
OK. Thank you!

Up to now I am using some old Sat Receiver and an old eeeBox (too slow!) running XBMC for watching recorded stuff. I would like to replace both with one single device that is capable of receiving and recording HD Satellite and TV, with all those cool features that are around - time shifting, IMDB queries, I don't really know what's out there. It should play streamed content from the internet (YouTube, Netflixx and all that there will be) and replay my HD video files that are stored on a NAS. The user interface should also look great :) and possibly include my XBMC fanart and metadata information...

What of this applies to ViX?