PDA

View Full Version : Is this possible? Wiring problems - please help

Johev
20-02-12, 17:42
Hi everybody,

I will try to structure this thread in a way it can be understood, but please be aware that I am not an expert on this so I might not be able to do as good of a job as I would like to.

Introduction:

My father has a 2 fixed satellite setup – 1 has 3 LNB's on it and the other one has 1 - in total they he has 4 LNB's pointed out at 4 different satellites.

He than has a switch (4 in - 1 out) next to the dishes and only one cable is going to the living room, now connected to a Xtrend ET9200 Silverline Edition (SE) bought from the sponsor of this nice forum.

He has this setup because before he used to have a small Sat Tuner that could only support up to different 4 LNB's.

Questions:

1) Now with a twin tuner setup is it possible to buy a switch (1 in - 2 out) that he could use on in his living room (on the other side of the cable that comes from the dishes), and this way have both tuners working?

1.1) Would this setup allow him to watch one channel on 1 satellite while recording another one on a different satellite?

1.2) Are there any bandwidth problems with this setup? Would it be possible to stream 2 HD channels from 2 different satellites at the same time?

2) He would like to add some more LNB's and/or Satellite dishes as he needs to have access to channels on satellites that he has not at the moment. My father does not like motorised dishes as he doesn't want to wait for it to position when he is zapping through channels and he wants to have the flexibility that both tuners should be connected to all LNB's which would in theory allow him to watch and record / stream any 2 channels at the same time.

Is this possible and what should he ask the installer to do when he comes over?

I have tired to make this as clear as possible.

Thank you in advance for all your help. :)

Larry-G
23-02-12, 00:41