PDA

View Full Version : 3 LNBs, 2 Linux boxes, what cabling etc do I need?

GerryAttric
25-01-12, 22:55
This will be a brand new set up, installed by a total novice (me) and I want to get it right first time, so any pointers in the right direction will be greatly appreciated.

The scenario:
I want to be able to get 13E, 19.2E & 28.2E. The receivers will be in two rooms, one directly above the other and will more than likely be used to watch and/or record entirely different programs at any one time. From looking at dishpointer, I have clear line of site from mounting the aerial just above the downstairs window.

For the main box which will be used for viewing/recording SD and HD and some experimenting, am I right in thinking that a Linux box with twin tuners along the lines of a VuDuo or an Extrend 6000 would be the sort of box to aim for?

For the upstairs box, it needs to be a single tuner that is reasonably simple to use as it is for someone who can be slightly technically challenged at times. I'm open to any ideas on this one - lowish budget even better.

I'm based in Inverclyde so will an 80cm dish be ok? Do the disecq switches go external or internal and what size would I need, working on the basis of putting twin feeds from each LNB into one room and single feeds into the other?

basilyoung
25-01-12, 23:03
The scenario:
I want to be able to get 13E, 19.2E & 28.2E. The receivers will be in two rooms, one directly above the other and will more than likely be used to watch and/or record entirely different programs at any one time. From looking at dishpointer, I have clear line of site from mounting the aerial just above the downstairs window.
For the main box which will be used for viewing/recording SD and HD and some experimenting, am I right in thinking that a Linux box with twin tuners along the lines of a VuDuo or an Extrend 6000 would be the sort of box to aim for?