PDA

View Full Version : Best box to upgrade to

Markymark
20-12-11, 23:49
Hi,

Newbie here, however thinking of making the plunge into Linux based boxes as I like the sound of what can be done with them and the fact they are being constantly developed.

Not sure on what the difference between the vu+UNO and solo are? Then think should I go duo as the twin tuners would be a nice addition when it comes to recording. That said can these boxes easily record and does anything exist that can do series like like sky offer?

Then do these Linux boxes work well with motorised systems - as that's what I now have?

Can I stream anything from these boxes to my pc so that I can watch tv on the computer? Also do they support BISS keys / cc cam etc?

Finally should I buy one with a standard setup of or go for the vix image? What is the main difference?

Hope you can help me and sorry if these are really simple questions.

jaylar
21-12-11, 00:09
Hi mate I just recently took the plunge my self from a tm500 I upgraded to a et9000 which is a real good box and am loving the vix software . Was going to get a vu duo but after a lot of reading decided that
et9000 had the edge over the duo which ever you go for you will be well supported here there all a good bunch

obo110x
21-12-11, 00:16
As a newbie myself to this forum several months ago I would say:
1/ Go for the duo if you can afford it
2/ No problem with motorised systems
3/ Yes you can stream through Vu+ web control and they do support such cams (Please read the forum rules about talking about these though)
4/ Go with one with the Vix image, it's a very good GUI which will make things easier for you as the Vu manual will not make much sense after it is installed

Larry-G
21-12-11, 00:31
Not sure on what the difference between the vu+UNO and solo are?