PDA

View Full Version : static ip question

stupac
21-07-10, 14:20
Hi guys im wondering if someone can put me right on this .

my query is what do i assign the static ip to ??? ive got a modem , into a belkin router , then the vu duo hard wired to the router , plus another pc hard wired and a laptop running wireless off the router ,

my question is do i put the static ip on the router or vu+ box or all ? im new to this and would appreciate any help.

thanks

stu.

bobonthejob
21-07-10, 14:47
Hey mate...

Static IP will be assigned to your VU Duo.

For instance....your routers IP will be something like 192.168.1.x (x would almost always be 1 by default)

Hence the static IP you set for the Vu Duo would be 192.168.1.y (y is any number between 2 and 254)

Your name servers and gateway will be 192.168.1.x (Basically your routers address)

Hope that helps.

stupac
21-07-10, 14:53
hey bob thanks for the quick reply , ive had that set already like that but i must be doing something wrong . as in cccam when i test it it says im offline , ive forwarded my port ok , what do i set my dns to and where do i get that from and where do i set that up ???

Ojustaboo
21-07-10, 15:45
What I did was use DHCP, hence whenever I load a new image, the network just works. But set my router up to always assign the VUduo the same address.

It's a Netgear, but Belkin will have something similar, I turned the VUduo on, it connected to my router automatically via DHPC

On my router, I looked at attached devices, and made a note of the VUduos mac address (as I couldn't find it in any of the VUduos menus).

Then, under LAN setup, there is an address reservation section.

I simply picked an address (as bob described) , entered it along with the mac address.

Now every time my vuduo boots, as the mac address is hardware, doesn't matter how many new images I try out, it always has the same ip address.