Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member


    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    970
    Thanks
    418
    Thanked 310 Times in 195 Posts

    ABM with use of IPTV Streams

    Hi,

    Thanks to the work that @Huevos has done by adding ability to use IPTV streams, I was then looking for a quicker/easier method of removing "HD" channels.

    I know I can use the <deletes> tag but I have to go through all the channels and add all the HD channel numbers.

    Therefore I thought about the old "custom" regional provider which was designed to remove HD channels and leave us with just SD channels.

    Then I was going to use the new <streams> tag to replace certain channels with IPTV streams.

    However, I couldn't seem to get this working. I removed my custommix file and tried just my regional custom area but some channels are missing (ie Sky1).

    Now I know this channel wouldn't clear but was hoping it would still at least show so that I can then replace this channel with an IPTV stream.

    Ultimately, I was looking for an easier way of removing HD channels leaving me with SD channels and any non working onces I can replace with IPTV streams. For the odd few where this isn't possible (ie +1 channels), I had planned on just using the <deletes> tag.

    Am I correct in assuming the "custom" region is no longer working?

  2. #2
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    788
    Thanks
    212
    Thanked 246 Times in 171 Posts
    The streams insert will only work with channels that are already there so if Sky one is removed you can't replace it so you need to use HD region.


    Abu's latest commit allows to force streams to empty slots so that should work but it forces service reference "1:0:1:0:0:0:0:0:0:0:" https://github.com/oe-alliance/AutoB...12d5310c965576 but then again it may not work if custom region removes the channels.

  3. #3
    Moderator abu baniaz's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    16,483
    Thanks
    4,449
    Thanked 6,437 Times in 4,339 Posts
    Ideally, I would like to have a custom option instead of separate regions.

    Remember, we exclude the dead transponders. Make a separate provider file and delete the broken TSIDs lines

    https://github.com/oe-alliance/AutoB....xml#L465:L474

    EDIT:
    Or delete this section
    https://github.com/oe-alliance/AutoB....xml#L528:L532
    Last edited by abu baniaz; 22-12-17 at 20:28.

  4. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to abu baniaz For This Useful Post:

    bbbuk (23-12-17),dsayers (22-12-17),gilvey (23-12-17)

  5. #4
    Moderator Huevos's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    38.5N, 0.5W
    Posts
    7,663
    Thanks
    1,562
    Thanked 2,804 Times in 1,857 Posts
    How does making Custom a separate function help? And what differences does it make here?

    All the stuff BBUK is asking can be done in a CustomMix file in hacks section, probably with just a few lines of code.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Huevos For This Useful Post:

    bbbuk (23-12-17)

  7. #5
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member


    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    970
    Thanks
    418
    Thanked 310 Times in 195 Posts
    Thanks for replies.

    I sorted it out. I had forgotten that "custom" region settings (rather than usual SD or HD) removed those now dead transponders.

    Thanks again to @Huevos for adding ability to use IPTV streams in place of channels.
    Last edited by bbbuk; 23-12-17 at 19:19.

  8. #6
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member


    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    970
    Thanks
    418
    Thanked 310 Times in 195 Posts
    @Huevos

    I've been using this feature for couple of months without an issue. Thank you.

    Would it be easy/possible, to add service type to this feature?

    So instead of using default service type 1: , could it be possible to specify gstreamer (4097) or another service type (5001 or 5002)?

  9. #7
    Moderator Huevos's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    38.5N, 0.5W
    Posts
    7,663
    Thanks
    1,562
    Thanked 2,804 Times in 1,857 Posts
    No it is not possible. Why would you want to do that?
    Last edited by Huevos; 04-02-18 at 21:37.

  10. #8
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member


    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    970
    Thanks
    418
    Thanked 310 Times in 195 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Huevos View Post
    No it is not possible. Why would you want to do that?
    Some IPTV streams have had little glitch recently but when I manually changed service ref of them so they begin with "4097:" instead of "1:" then it's okay as gstreamer takes over and buffers a few seconds.

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to bbbuk For This Useful Post:

    duoduo (05-02-18)

  12. #9
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member


    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    970
    Thanks
    418
    Thanked 310 Times in 195 Posts
    I've submitted a pull request for consideration because using service type 1 for IPTV streams isn't always ideal as it requires constant stream with no interruption whereas other service types buffer the streams and therefore reduce buffer underruns/glitches.

    There are several possible service types to use for IPTV streams (assuming one has added appropriate plugin) as taken from this thread:

    Code:
    Recognised playback types
    1, processed by the SoC (for when buffering is not required),
    4097, processed by gstreamer via servicemp3,
    5001, processed by gestreamer via gst-player and
    5002, processed via extplayer3.
    Pull request here.

    This is designed to compliment @Huevos commit here.

    My coding skills aren't fantastic so apologies if this can be coded better

    Thanks
    Last edited by bbbuk; 10-02-18 at 15:32.

  13. The Following User Says Thank You to bbbuk For This Useful Post:

    dsayers (11-02-18)

  14. #10
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    788
    Thanks
    212
    Thanked 246 Times in 171 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bbbuk View Post
    I've submitted a pull request for consideration because using service type 1 for IPTV streams isn't always ideal as it requires constant stream with no interruption whereas other service types buffer the streams and therefore reduce buffer underruns/glitches.

    There are several possible service types to use for IPTV streams (assuming one has added appropriate plugin) as taken from this thread:

    Code:
    Recognised playback types
    1, processed by the SoC (for when buffering is not required),
    4097, processed by gstreamer via servicemp3,
    5001, processed by gestreamer via gst-player and
    5002, processed via extplayer3.
    Pull request here.

    This is designed to compliment @Huevos commit here.

    My coding skills aren't fantastic so apologies if this can be coded better

    Thanks
    I've tested this and it seems to be great.

  15. #11
    Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    30
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bbbuk View Post
    I've submitted a pull request for consideration because using service type 1 for IPTV streams isn't always ideal as it requires constant stream with no interruption whereas other service types buffer the streams and therefore reduce buffer underruns/glitches.

    There are several possible service types to use for IPTV streams (assuming one has added appropriate plugin) as taken from this thread:

    Code:
    Recognised playback types
    1, processed by the SoC (for when buffering is not required),
    4097, processed by gstreamer via servicemp3,
    5001, processed by gestreamer via gst-player and
    5002, processed via extplayer3.
    Pull request here.

    This is designed to compliment @Huevos commit here.

    My coding skills aren't fantastic so apologies if this can be coded better

    Thanks

    Hi, I have been following this and your other post about streams. It have been really useful. I have managed to replace channels with streams and would like to be able to add streams in to other empty slots but have been able to do that. Also you latest comment about a small buffer is great and it looks like it has worked. Can i please see your custom mix or the hacks section. Many thanks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •