Hello Guest, if you are reading this it means you have not registered yet. Please take a second, Click here to register, and in a few simple steps you will be able to enjoy our community and use our OpenViX support section.

Thread: Newbie

Title
    Thanks

Red face Newbie

Hey, I was hoping to find out how to make a start with OpenVix. I am new to Linux based receivers and also the accompanied terminology.
    I have purchased a Technomate TM-Nano-SE M2 Plus receiver, and I am using to receive transmissions from HellasSat 3 at 39 E using a single LNB and fixed dish (80cm), at the moment I get RIKsat and RIK 1,2,3,4 as well as EPTWorld, very pleased.
    Where do I start, when I start the receiver it shows a page with the logo 4D, so I am assuming that is the default image?, is there anyway of improving it, would an OpenVix image be any better, give better facilities/opportunities etc. I would appreciate any kind of help and guidance as I am slowly learning but it is slow. Thank you

Title
    Thanks
    I think your supposed to introduce yourself first then post. But go to forum page and scroll down and you will find dedicated support for your box and say what image you are currently using.

Title
    Thanks
    Thank you what kind of introduction did you have in mind?

Title
    Thanks
    Thanked 9,146 Times in 6,224 Posts
    Most people on this forum use OpenVix as the main image (think of it like operating system) on their receiver. You are limited to choices on your receiver. Try them and settle on image you like.

Title
    Thanks
    Thanks for this information I am now usin g Openvix and I like it well. I have been interested in the use of the remote access program OpenWebif, but I am told it needs to be secure when accessing it, if I enable HTTP authentication, it then asks for username and password in order to gain access, how do I set up this please.

Title
    Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by Zappas View Post