Hello Guest, if you are reading this it means you have not registered yet. Please take a second, Click here to register, and in a few simple steps you will be able to enjoy our community and use our OpenViX support section.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Newbie needs recommendation for a receiver

Title
    Thanks

Newbie needs recommendation for a receiver

Hello, first of all I am a complete newbie to all this and most of the terms used in this forum are completely alien to me ("emulators" etc), so please could you bear this in mind in your reply and use really simple terms.

I am here because I'm simply looking for a Freesat satellite receiver that will let me arrange the channels in the order I want, which to me is one of the most basic things a satellite receiver needs to do and I wouldn't even consider buying a box that didn't let me do this. Yet someone told me most boxes don't allow this and I'll need a Linux box, which is how I ended up here.

So basically I am asking for a recommendation because all these different Linux boxes are totally baffling to me and I don't have a clue about any of this.

My wish list is as follows...

1. PVR / can record (at least 2 tuners please)
    2. No WiFi or bluetooth (I noticed that some of these Linux boxes go online - I do not want that, I just want TV)
    3. Can rearrange/delete channels
    4. Channel logos - I normally use a Topfield (Freeview) so used to channel logos.
    5. As customisable as possible, especially the interface/colours

TIA!

Title
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Thanks
    Hi,

I can't recommend a specific box as I've only had the one and it is no longer available