Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    124
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Is that it - Sky channels ha e (mostly gone for good?)

    Hi,

    Like many we've been gradually losing Sky channels over the past few weeks. Forgive me if I'm just rubbish at searching but I couldn't find an answer as to why or (unlikely...) a fix.

    Do I assume that our fantastic Gigabyte Quad is now redundant and we'll have to return to a boring Sky box from now on?

    Thanks,

    Steve

  2. #2
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Bazzer's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Nottingham
    Posts
    658
    Thanks
    429
    Thanked 144 Times in 112 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by steveharman View Post
    Hi,

    Like many we've been gradually losing Sky channels over the past few weeks. Forgive me if I'm just rubbish at searching but I couldn't find an answer as to why or (unlikely...) a fix.

    Do I assume that our fantastic Gigabyte Quad is now redundant and we'll have to return to a boring Sky box from now on?

    Thanks,

    Steve
    God knows how many threads there is on this subject. Stick with your Gigabyte Quad m8 knocks spots off sky box and vm box .Would not swop my Mutant HD2400 for a sly box . All my vm box does is buffer all the time when first switched on ring them up hour later some one tells you to switch the box off leave for 3 mins and then back on .Never have these problems with the Mutant if i have had problems with updates etc i have asked on here and get all the help i need in half the time with peeps who understand and help you the best they can. Stick with your box buddy that's my advise.
    Mutant HD2400 , 2 x DVB-S/S2, 2x DVB-T/T2/C ,OpenVix version 5.0.023 , VIXBMC_1080 Confluence, and MK picons , remote Harmony 650, Amazon firestick running Orroo build 3.0

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Bazzer For This Useful Post:

    schoolboyerror (21-05-17)

  4. #3
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    124
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bazzer View Post
    God knows how many threads there is on this subject. Stick with your Gigabyte Quad m8 knocks spots off sky box and vm box .Would not swop my Mutant HD2400 for a sly box . All my vm box does is buffer all the time when first switched on ring them up hour later some one tells you to switch the box off leave for 3 mins and then back on .Never have these problems with the Mutant if i have had problems with updates etc i have asked on here and get all the help i need in half the time with peeps who understand and help you the best they can. Stick with your box buddy that's my advise.
    Hi. I'm with you all the way mate I'd love to stick with the Gigablue but we hardly have any channels left!

    In the past month (since Sky changed something?) our box has basically become a Freeview receiver. :-)

    Steve

  5. #4
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Bazzer's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Nottingham
    Posts
    658
    Thanks
    429
    Thanked 144 Times in 112 Posts
    Mutant HD2400 , 2 x DVB-S/S2, 2x DVB-T/T2/C ,OpenVix version 5.0.023 , VIXBMC_1080 Confluence, and MK picons , remote Harmony 650, Amazon firestick running Orroo build 3.0

  6. #5
    V.I.P
    Donated Member
    Larry-G's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    32,545
    Thanks
    7,831
    Thanked 22,859 Times in 12,370 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by steveharman View Post
    Hi,

    Like many we've been gradually losing Sky channels over the past few weeks. Forgive me if I'm just rubbish at searching but I couldn't find an answer as to why or (unlikely...) a fix.

    Do I assume that our fantastic Gigabyte Quad is now redundant and we'll have to return to a boring Sky box from now on?

    Thanks,

    Steve
    If you have a legitimate sky subscription card then yes, you must return it to a genuine sky issued receiver in order to view your channels. Your quad will still function perfectly and you can still use it for FTA or put a motorised dish on it and try some other European satellites with it. But for sky uk it's days are pretty much done (for now at least).

    Just remember you still have one of the best most customisable receives in the world and it will still work great just not for sky uk.
    My posts contain my own personal thoughts and opinions, they do not represent those of any organisation or group but my own.

    If you don't like what I post, Don't read it.

    SIMPLES.

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to Larry-G For This Useful Post:

    Hawkwind (19-05-17)

  8. #6
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    553
    Thanks
    170
    Thanked 57 Times in 48 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by steveharman View Post
    Hi,

    Like many we've been gradually losing Sky channels over the past few weeks. Forgive me if I'm just rubbish at searching but I couldn't find an answer as to why or (unlikely...) a fix.

    Do I assume that our fantastic Gigabyte Quad is now redundant and we'll have to return to a boring Sky box from now on?

    Thanks,

    Steve
    Nah, keep the Giga box as FTA and enjoy changing the skins on a regular basis

  9. #7
    Member azael's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    44
    Thanks
    24
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
    Yeah keep your box mate get a motorised dish or like me a multi LNB set up (though you may have to spend a couple of hours up a ladder doing a chuckle brothers to me to you lnb shuffle routine ) there is a whole load of other satts to explore

  10. #8
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    115
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
    I have Virgin cable for the women here, they used to mess up the settings on my sat box. It was worth the extra a month to have my dish to myself and no squabbling from them. When i am back up and running next week I will stream anything they want to watch from any sats. I never got a box to get freebies as such, just a toy to play with.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •