Hello Guest, if you are reading this it means you have not registered yet. Please take a second, Click here to register, and in a few simple steps you will be able to enjoy our community and use our OpenViX support section.

Thread: Sound Issues

Title
    Thanks

Sound Issues

Hello newbie here. Please don't shoot me down for being a tad (ok totally) green on this issue, there is nothing I could find online to help, so here I am.
    I have a Venz V10 Pro, but I cannot get sound to work through my old tv via hdmi (pioneer 506d).
    I've switched to passthrough and pcm but still nothing, when playing a mkv file via a plugged in external hard drive.
    Is it just a simple case of the box needs to be put through a dts amp etc? Hope some nice person can help.

Title
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,112 Times in 878 Posts
    You should start by setting your Venz to PCM. Then check that your TV plays the navigation sounds (clicks) as you navigate through the menus. If your TV is an older model it's unlikely that it will accept anything except PCM (or maybe Dolby Digital) on its input HDMI port. You can usually check this by going into the setup menu on your TV and checking the HDMI settings.

If you don't have an AV amp and are using the TV sound only, then passthrough is not an appropriate setting as this will (in theory) send multichannel DTS/DD5.1 or whatever over HDMI which your TV won't process properly. It should handle PCM.

As regards passthrough, I have found the Venz Pro very "hit and miss" as regards what it will handle on android Marshmallow. Ordinary DD 5.1 is ok as is ordinary DTS. Anything with high definition sound is not handled properly. I now use it for Kodi only, using the Libreelec builds. There are other threads in this section which show you how to use those on a separate USB stick or SD card which will allow you to try out Libreelec without blowing away the internal android firmware.