Hello Guest, if you're reading this it means you have not yet registered. Please take a second, Click here to register and in a few simple steps, you will be able to enjoy all the many features of our fine community. Please note that nicknames are prohibited lewd or meaningless (no numbers or letters at random) and introduce yourself in the section for you to meet our community.

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    265
    Thanks
    121
    Thanked 63 Times in 27 Posts

    streamed 4k content over network wirelessly ?

    Hi, im looking to buy this mainly so can stream 4k wirelessly using the 5ghz with kodi from NAS drive anyone tried this ??

    Thanks

  2. #2
    ViX Beta Tester twol's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    2,440
    Thanks
    337
    Thanked 690 Times in 555 Posts
    Well I have never been able to stream non-compressed bluray from a media player over WiFi without glitching -- have to use ethernet.
    Octagon SF4008 ViX
    Mut@nt HD51 ViX plus couch flash/image multiboot
    Xtrend 2xET8500 ViX plus couch flash/boot OS1/OS2 image
    ET7500 (standard ViX image)
    EMP 9 x 16 multiswitch with 1.5M Gibertini 28.2E and 80cm 19.2 dishes
    Panasonic 50 & 55 " plasma TV's plus Acer 28" 4k ips monitor
    Mede8er/Dune media players
    Remote: Simple Control app

  3. #3
    ViX Beta Tester twol's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    2,440
    Thanks
    337
    Thanked 690 Times in 555 Posts
    Well I have never been able to stream non-compressed bluray from a media player over WiFi without glitching -- have to use ethernet.
    You can use the jellyfish streaming tests to test your network
    Octagon SF4008 ViX
    Mut@nt HD51 ViX plus couch flash/image multiboot
    Xtrend 2xET8500 ViX plus couch flash/boot OS1/OS2 image
    ET7500 (standard ViX image)
    EMP 9 x 16 multiswitch with 1.5M Gibertini 28.2E and 80cm 19.2 dishes
    Panasonic 50 & 55 " plasma TV's plus Acer 28" 4k ips monitor
    Mede8er/Dune media players
    Remote: Simple Control app

  4. #4
    ViX Beta Tester

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    germania
    Posts
    4,343
    Thanks
    98
    Thanked 1,224 Times in 965 Posts
    Hi,
    which bitrate? For Full HD or 4K in good quality you have a bitrate of >50MBit/sec so you need a stable connection of at least 100MBit which is hard to realize with 802.11n so you need 802.11ac/ad. Longer distances and some walls or even a ceiling in the way can drop the bitrate of WiFi very fast very low. Perhaps try with your cellphone of tablet what bitrates you get on the intended places. Caution: avoid the use of WiFi repeater as the cut the bitrate to only a half of what might be possible. If possible change the bandwith of your WiFi to 80MHz on 5GHz if possible.

    With my tablet and in the same room as my router (around 550MBit connection) I have no problems to stream very good quality HD content. I did not test 4K though.

    ciao
    ---
    Sat:VU+ Ultimo4K/Solo4K/Duo2/2*Solo2, DM7020
    Remote: Harmony 200, 700, 2*785,Link, Smart Control, Smart Companion, 2*Touch, 2*Ultimate, Keyboard

  5. #5
    ViX Beta Tester Rob van der Does's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    34,728
    Thanks
    1,558
    Thanked 9,216 Times in 6,511 Posts
    And on top of that you must realize that streaming in E2 doesn't have any buffering, so every single bit error will show.
    Transcoding is an option, if you have the hardware for it.


    Help asked via PM will be ignored.
    The forum is there for help and all will benefit from your questions.
    NO CARD SHARING TALK WILL BE TOLERATED, LAN OR WAN, IN OPEN FORUM OR PM !

    English is not my native tongue.
    I apologise for all my grammar, spelling and idiom errors.

  6. #6
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    265
    Thanks
    121
    Thanked 63 Times in 27 Posts
    Hi, i currently have a sony 4k TV which has android built in so can install kodi and have it connected via wifi at 5ghz i have files which are 4k / hdr 50gb+ and have been succesful streaming them after going through each 5ghz wifi till found one that worked without any buffering

    the internet is in same room but wanting to save using a cable as its across the room

    my issue is i have gone through 2 tv's now and seems i keep getting unlucky with issues with them first one had banding/ 2 dead pixels / buzzing when playing 4k hdr , 2nd set the screen after awhile gets horizontal lines all across screen so now maybe will ditch this and go for a different brand with no android built in so looking for a box to stream 4k using kodi

  7. #7
    ViX Beta Tester

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    germania
    Posts
    4,343
    Thanks
    98
    Thanked 1,224 Times in 965 Posts
    Hi,
    5GHz does not automatically mean that it uses 802.11ac and 80MHz bandwith. Important is the connection bitrate which should be a lot over 100MBit which sometimes can be seen in the web interface of the router or AP.

    ciao
    ---
    Sat:VU+ Ultimo4K/Solo4K/Duo2/2*Solo2, DM7020
    Remote: Harmony 200, 700, 2*785,Link, Smart Control, Smart Companion, 2*Touch, 2*Ultimate, Keyboard

  8. #8
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    265
    Thanks
    121
    Thanked 63 Times in 27 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Trial View Post
    Hi,
    5GHz does not automatically mean that it uses 802.11ac and 80MHz bandwith. Important is the connection bitrate which should be a lot over 100MBit which sometimes can be seen in the web interface of the router or AP.

    ciao
    thanks can always route a cable if doesnt work well over wifi , also noticed the S912 chip supports Dolby vison which TV also supports this comes with S905x chip with only HDR support looking to future proof myself

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •