Hello Guest, if you're reading this it means you have not yet registered. Please take a second, Click here to register and in a few simple steps, you will be able to enjoy all the many features of our fine community. Please note that nicknames are prohibited lewd or meaningless (no numbers or letters at random) and introduce yourself in the section for you to meet our community.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    Senior Member garryboy's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 86 Times in 70 Posts

    USB stick as a hard drive.

    Was looking at purchasing the vu uno 4k to replace my duo. Il move the duo to my bedroom.

    I don't record much and my 500gb is less than 1/4 full in my duo.

    Is a USB stick say for instance a 128gb a suitable replacement for a hard disk.

    If so does it need to be any specific spec/speed to work properly.

    Any help appreciated





    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    ViX Beta Tester Andy_Hazza's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    4,987
    Thanks
    1,221
    Thanked 1,454 Times in 1,182 Posts
    Only thing I would say is, get a good branded one like Kingston, SanDisk, HP etc, not a generic one off fleBay etc.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Vu+ Ultimo 4K with 3TB HDD, Dual FBC (Sat) tuners, 1x Twin Hybrid DVB-C/T/T2 tuner
    Vu+ Solo 4K with 1TB HDD, Dual FBC (Sat) tuners, 1x Hybrid DVB-C/T/T2 tuner
    Vu+ Solo 2 with 1TB HDD 'White Edition', 2x DVB-S2 tuners
    Mut@nt HD2400 with 1TB HDD, 4x DVB-S2 tuners
    Fixed 28.2E Technomate 65cm Mesh Satellite Dish with Inverto Unicable II/JESS LNB and Inverto Unicable Splitter
    Fixed 28.2E Sky Zone 1 45cm Satellite Dish with Octo LNB
    (All receivers installed with the latest Dev build)

  3. #3
    Senior Member garryboy's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 86 Times in 70 Posts
    Thanks Andy.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Moderator abu baniaz's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    14,887
    Thanks
    4,183
    Thanked 5,733 Times in 3,874 Posts
    if the duo is going to be networked, you can also mount the HDD on the new receiver.

  5. #5
    Senior Member garryboy's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 86 Times in 70 Posts
    I have a MD xp1000 in my Daighters room that's network linked to the duo at the moment.

    Would mean I would have to switch the duo switched on when I was recording anything.

    It's an option though.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    Junior Member maller's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    any usb should work if it is formatted to fat 32 i watch films from my usb with no problems

  7. #7
    Senior Member garryboy's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 86 Times in 70 Posts
    Any limit on the size of USB stick that can be used?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  8. #8
    ViX Beta Tester

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    germania
    Posts
    4,364
    Thanks
    98
    Thanked 1,229 Times in 968 Posts
    Hi,
    usb flash drives are not really build for a lot of writing as they normally have no real wear leveling as SSDs do. I also would mount the drive of the other receiver. btw. fat32 has a limit of 4GB which might be to less for a longer HD recording.

    ciao
    ---
    Sat:VU+ Ultimo4K/Solo4K/Duo2/2*Solo2, DM7020
    Remote: Harmony 200, 700, 2*785,Link, Smart Control, Smart Companion, 2*Touch, 2*Ultimate, Keyboard

  9. #9
    Senior Member garryboy's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 86 Times in 70 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Trial View Post
    Hi,
    usb flash drives are not really build for a lot of writing as they normally have no real wear leveling as SSDs do. I also would mount the drive of the other receiver. btw. fat32 has a limit of 4GB which might be to less for a longer HD recording.

    ciao
    Thanks. That's info I'm looking for.

    Think might be better with a USB Hard disk.

    Now do they require there own power or can the USB port power them?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  10. #10
    Moderator abu baniaz's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    14,887
    Thanks
    4,183
    Thanked 5,733 Times in 3,874 Posts
    Best to use a powered one.

  11. #11
    Senior Member garryboy's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 86 Times in 70 Posts
    Thanks Abu


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  12. #12
    Senior Member garryboy's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 86 Times in 70 Posts
    Can the network attached drive be accessed when the receiver that has the drive is in deep standby?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  13. #13
    Moderator abu baniaz's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    14,887
    Thanks
    4,183
    Thanked 5,733 Times in 3,874 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by garryboy View Post
    Can the network attached drive be accessed when the receiver that has the drive is in deep standby?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    No, unless the server has Wake On Lan capability. I don't think the Duo has WOL. If this is wrong, hopefully someone will confirm.

  14. #14
    Senior Member garryboy's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 86 Times in 70 Posts
    Thanks again abu


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  15. #15
    Moderator Huevos's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    38.5N, 0.5W
    Posts
    7,164
    Thanks
    1,528
    Thanked 2,542 Times in 1,697 Posts
    I've got a USB flash drive attached to each of my test boxes. Used for debug logs and test recordings. Not ideal but I've never had one fail yet.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •