Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    323
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 61 Times in 50 Posts

    Sony KD55XD9305 TV + Sony HT-RT5 SB Onscreen display

    Hi
    Using the above
    Using HDMI leads capable of passing full 4K
    Using HDMI 1 input on soundbar
    Using ARC output from soundbar to ARC input on TV

    Plug in device capable of output up to 1080 into HDMI 1 Input on SB I get the volume setting onscreen on the TV.
    Plug in 4K device into same NO volume onscreen setting on the TV. (Have tried several 4k devices.)

    Anyone any ideas.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member


    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    2,704
    Thanks
    66
    Thanked 565 Times in 486 Posts
    No biggy, my Denon although being fully 4K hdcp2.2 compliant does not have a 4K overlay so basic volume settings etc will not be displayed when passing through 4K content, switch your 4K device to 1080p you will then see your volume.
    Crazy i know.
    VU+ Ultimo 4K 3TB, 1x Twin DVBS-2 FBC / 1x DVB-C FBC/ 1x Twin DVB-T2.
    VU+ Solo4k 2TB, 2xFBC-S2, 2xC/T2, 1x Sundtek .
    1m Motorised Single LNB Dish, 60cm Fixed Octo LNB Dish.
    Samsung 65HU8500 with SEK-3500, Denon AVR-X2200W 5.1.2.
    Oppo UDP-203
    Panasonic 55VT50.
    Zidoo X9S
    Amazon Fire TV 4k & Amazon Fire TV (SPMC sideloaded).

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to DaMacFunkin For This Useful Post:

    s2tephen (08-01-17)

  4. #3
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    323
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 61 Times in 50 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DaMacFunkin View Post
    No biggy, my Denon although being fully 4K hdcp2.2 compliant does not have a 4K overlay so basic volume settings etc will not be displayed when passing through 4K content, switch your 4K device to 1080p you will then see your volume.
    Crazy i know.
    Will give it a try.
    Thanks

  5. #4
    ViX Beta Tester birdman's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Hitchin, UK
    Posts
    3,789
    Thanks
    75
    Thanked 826 Times in 655 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by s2tephen View Post
    Plug in device capable of output up to 1080 into HDMI 1 Input on SB I get the volume setting onscreen on the TV.
    Plug in 4K device into same NO volume onscreen setting on the TV. (Have tried several 4k devices.)
    The second device will be querying where the sound device is and will be told it is logical device 5 (sound output) rather then device 1 (the TV). So it will be sending volume commands to device 5 and hence the TV never sees them.

    A device that doesn't query where the sound is will just send to commands to device 1 (the TV) so the TV reports them- and it then changes the volume (by sending the commands to device 5). The end result should be the same (the volume on the sound bar changes) but the TV will report the latter and not the former.
    Last edited by birdman; 08-01-17 at 18:00.
    MiracleBox Prem Twin HD - 2@DVB-T2 + Xtrend et8000 - 4(1 USB)@DVB-T2[terrestrial - UK Freeview HD, Sandy Heath] - LAN/USB-stick/HDD

  6. #5
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    323
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 61 Times in 50 Posts
    Thanks for the info.
    Yes the info is on the soundbar but the wife cannot see it, she only looks at the TV.

  7. #6
    ViX Beta Tester birdman's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Hitchin, UK
    Posts
    3,789
    Thanks
    75
    Thanked 826 Times in 655 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by s2tephen View Post
    Thanks for the info.
    Yes the info is on the soundbar but the wife cannot see it, she only looks at the TV.
    If she closed her eyes the two cases would become equivalent.
    MiracleBox Prem Twin HD - 2@DVB-T2 + Xtrend et8000 - 4(1 USB)@DVB-T2[terrestrial - UK Freeview HD, Sandy Heath] - LAN/USB-stick/HDD

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •