Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Member timbo4000's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 12 Times in 2 Posts

    Solution required for Linux box in 1 room with distribution to tv in another room

    My friends are asking me to set them up with a Linux Satellite, however there is a slight issue in that their current setup is as follows:

    Official sky box is in the lounge with a RF output from the box to the TV in the conservatory, the TV in the conservatory has a Sky Remote which allows changing channels on the Sky box in the lounge.

    I believe that the Sky box in the lounge has an RF output back outside the house and back in to the TV in the conservatory.

    My question is how can I replicate the same setup but using a Linux Satellite box in place of the Sky box in the lounge ?

    I was wanting to use an Xtrend ET8500 but I notice that the receiver does not have an RF out, only HDMI & Composite.

    Any ideas or advice would be much appreciated.

  2. #2
    ViX Beta Tester Andy_Hazza's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    5,098
    Thanks
    1,235
    Thanked 1,493 Times in 1,213 Posts
    This maybe what you need >> http://www.world-of-satellite.co.uk/...dulator-ILS102


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Vu+ Ultimo 4K with 3TB HDD, Dual FBC (Sat) tuners, 1x Twin Hybrid DVB-C/T/T2 tuner
    Vu+ Solo 4K with 1TB HDD, Dual FBC (Sat) tuners, 1x Hybrid DVB-C/T/T2 tuner
    Vu+ Solo 2 with 1TB HDD 'White Edition', 2x DVB-S2 tuners
    Mut@nt HD2400 with 1TB HDD, 4x DVB-S2 tuners
    Fixed 28.2E Technomate 65cm Mesh Satellite Dish with Inverto Unicable II/JESS LNB and Inverto Unicable Splitter
    Fixed 28.2E Sky Zone 1 45cm Satellite Dish with Octo LNB
    (All receivers installed with the latest Dev build)

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Andy_Hazza For This Useful Post:

    Sicilian (08-01-17)

  4. #3
    Member timbo4000's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 12 Times in 2 Posts
    Ahhh I see.

    Thanks Andy.

    One more question what about changing channels though for that I mean, the Xtrend Remote would need to be in the conservatory which would some how send the signal to the lounge to control the Xtrend receiver ?

  5. #4
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    318
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 61 Times in 50 Posts
    Try looking into HDMI TX RX solution and changing channels via hdmi CEC.

  6. #5
    Member timbo4000's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 12 Times in 2 Posts
    Thanks s2tephen, I think though that solution might be a bit too expensive, plus they are still on old non HDMI & Smart TV's.

  7. #6
    ViX Beta Tester Andy_Hazza's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    5,098
    Thanks
    1,235
    Thanked 1,493 Times in 1,213 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by timbo4000 View Post
    Ahhh I see.

    Thanks Andy.

    One more question what about changing channels though for that I mean, the Xtrend Remote would need to be in the conservatory which would some how send the signal to the lounge to control the Xtrend receiver ?
    Use a phone app if he has a iPhone or Samsung Galaxy etc.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Vu+ Ultimo 4K with 3TB HDD, Dual FBC (Sat) tuners, 1x Twin Hybrid DVB-C/T/T2 tuner
    Vu+ Solo 4K with 1TB HDD, Dual FBC (Sat) tuners, 1x Hybrid DVB-C/T/T2 tuner
    Vu+ Solo 2 with 1TB HDD 'White Edition', 2x DVB-S2 tuners
    Mut@nt HD2400 with 1TB HDD, 4x DVB-S2 tuners
    Fixed 28.2E Technomate 65cm Mesh Satellite Dish with Inverto Unicable II/JESS LNB and Inverto Unicable Splitter
    Fixed 28.2E Sky Zone 1 45cm Satellite Dish with Octo LNB
    (All receivers installed with the latest Dev build)

  8. #7
    ViX Beta Tester fat-tony's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Wicklow, Ireland
    Posts
    2,195
    Thanks
    525
    Thanked 604 Times in 472 Posts
    @timbo4000 - this solution (again from the sponsor) allows for use of remote http://www.world-of-satellite.co.uk/...-plus-omnilink
    You would need to bring the xtrend remote into the other room or purchase a second one.
    GB Quad Plus, MB Premium Twin, Mut@nt HD51, 80cm dish and Supreme Dark motor. Sony STR-DN 1060, Sony UHP-H1 Bluray, Venz V10 Pro (Libreelec), Monitor Audio Bronze 5.1 speakers

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to fat-tony For This Useful Post:

    Sicilian (08-01-17)

  10. #8
    Member timbo4000's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 12 Times in 2 Posts
    Thanks @fat-tony, most helpful. Along with @Andy_Hazza's solution I think that would work well.

  11. #9
    Member techygirl's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    62
    Thanks
    61
    Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Andy_Hazza View Post
    Use a phone app if he has a iPhone or Samsung Galaxy etc.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    I have an ET8500 and use the telly'mote - Enigma2 Remote Control on an iphone. It works no problem.
    Xtrend ET8500 x 3 tuners Openvix 1TB hard drive VIXBMC_1080_Confluence
    Another ET8500 x 4 tuners 1TB VIXBMC_1080_Confluence
    Octagon SF128 OpenATV
    tele'mote app

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to techygirl For This Useful Post:

    timbo4000 (08-01-17)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •