Hello Guest, if you are reading this it means you have not registered yet. Please take a second, Click here to register, and in a few simple steps you will be able to enjoy our community and use our OpenViX support section.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Update error help needed

Title
    Thanks

Update error help needed

Hello everyone hopefully someone can help me out with this problem. Every time I try to update my xtrend et8500 it comes up with an error message that says (error - problem retrieving update list)
    I'm new to the vix platform and flashing etc so be kind lol!!
    Thanks Steve Evans

Title
    Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by Legacy7770 View Post
    Hello everyone hopefully someone can help me out with this problem. Every time I try to update my xtrend et8500 it comes up with an error message that says (error - problem retrieving update list)
    I'm new to the vix platform and flashing etc so be kind lol!!
    Thanks Steve Evans
    Xtrend and a few other boxes had a problem with using the Software Update feature updating to 4.2.22 and 4.2.23 if I remember correctly.

You entered that you were on 4.2 but not the release number (press Menu/Information/about and read the line which says Image: 4.2.xxx (Release))

Suggest that you make a settings backup (Menu/Setup/ViX/Backup Manager then Green button (New Backup) first of all, then do a 'couch flash':

1. Menu/Setup/ViX/Image Manager then Yellow button (Downloads), select 4.2.23 and then Green button then OK to 'yes' in the following pop-up.

2. When the download has completed, press Exit once to return to Image Manager, select 4.2.23 and then Blue button (Restore) then OK to 'yes' prompt.

3. The box will prepare and then the flashing tool will appear. It will take a good few minutes before the box reboots and the Initial Wizard starts.