Hello Guest, if you're reading this it means you have not yet registered. Please take a second, Click here to register and in a few simple steps, you will be able to enjoy all the many features of our fine community. Please note that nicknames are prohibited lewd or meaningless (no numbers or letters at random) and introduce yourself in the section for you to meet our community.

View Poll Results: standby or on when box and tv not being viewed ?

Voters
36. You may not vote on this poll
  • Do you leave your box on when not being viewed ?

    7 19.44%
  • Do you put box on standby when not being viewed ?

    29 80.56%
  • Don't you care if you leave it either way ?

    0 0%
Multiple Choice Poll.
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 27 of 27
  1. #16
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    gerinemo's Avatar
    Archery 2000 Champion!

    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Wicklow IRL
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BRAVEHEART View Post
    I have never used "deep standyby/sleep" in my life with any box.

    But anyway, what's this timeshift you guys are talking about ? If I have never seen it or heard of
    it which I haven't then is it something I need not bother about or can I check somehow to see
    if its defo switched off or what ? Can you tell me what it actually does and will it effect me in
    any way if I switch it off ? Oh, and if I should switch it off then where is it I find it on the menu please ?
    Cheers.
    Timeshift
    Means the box is permanently recording so that you can rewind a program your watching
    As far as I know when the program is over it deletes the recording and starts again recording the program that is now showing
    so if you try to rewind the program that has only been showing for 2 mins then you can only go back 2 mins but if it was near the end you could go all the way back but when its over the recording will be gone

    Obviously you would need a hard drive installed for this to work

    Happy Christmas
    Last edited by gerinemo; 22-12-16 at 09:20.

  2. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to gerinemo For This Useful Post:

    BRAVEHEART (23-12-16),stevie1965 (30-12-16)

  3. #17
    ViX Beta Tester Rob van der Does's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    34,562
    Thanks
    1,551
    Thanked 9,190 Times in 6,492 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gerinemo View Post
    Obviously you would need a hard drive installed for this to work
    Or use any other device to which you can record (USB/NAS/other STB).


    Help asked via PM will be ignored.
    The forum is there for help and all will benefit from your questions.
    NO CARD SHARING TALK WILL BE TOLERATED, LAN OR WAN, IN OPEN FORUM OR PM !

    English is not my native tongue.
    I apologise for all my grammar, spelling and idiom errors.

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to Rob van der Does For This Useful Post:

    BRAVEHEART (23-12-16)

  5. #18
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member


    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    66
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
    Power timer for standby after 180mins repeated. Power timer for deep standby at 23 45 and wake up at 0600. Works well for me and gives old duo a breather every night.

  6. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to sticky7 For This Useful Post:

    Bangord30 (22-12-16),BRAVEHEART (23-12-16)

  7. #19
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member


    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    66
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
    Also use pluginskinmover on the duo to move some plugins to USB. Been running for a couple of months with no issues. Lets me have IPTV and others running with still 30mb flash free.

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to sticky7 For This Useful Post:

    BRAVEHEART (23-12-16)

  9. #20
    V.I.P

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    218
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 231 Times in 96 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sticky7 View Post
    Also use pluginskinmover on the duo to move some plugins to USB. Been running for a couple of months with no issues. Lets me have IPTV and others running with still 30mb flash free.
    So without that plugin you would have been at 0mb or below 0mb?

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to ocram For This Useful Post:

    BRAVEHEART (23-12-16)

  11. #21
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member


    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    66
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
    That together with a few others left it very low, not 0mb. I have moved any that it allowed me to move to USB. Duo works a lot quicker since.

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to sticky7 For This Useful Post:

    BRAVEHEART (23-12-16)

  13. #22
    ViX Beta Tester Rob van der Does's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    34,562
    Thanks
    1,551
    Thanked 9,190 Times in 6,492 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sticky7 View Post
    Duo works a lot quicker since.
    That is unexplainable. USB is slower than flash, and as long as flash isn't full there should be no problem (box needs to be able to (re)write small files to flash).


    Help asked via PM will be ignored.
    The forum is there for help and all will benefit from your questions.
    NO CARD SHARING TALK WILL BE TOLERATED, LAN OR WAN, IN OPEN FORUM OR PM !

    English is not my native tongue.
    I apologise for all my grammar, spelling and idiom errors.

  14. #23
    Senior Member bellejt's Avatar

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    977
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 175 Times in 154 Posts
    my masterbox goes in standby but slaveboxes go in deep sleep with timer settings.
    VU+ DUO2 quad tuner with HDD 1 TB + Latest Openvix and VU+ DUO2 remote stream and Edision OS1 openvix apollo
    1 triax 88 cm rotor single LNB 30 E- 40 W
    1 triax 88 cm fixed - 4 quad LNB 13E-19E-23.5E-28.2E

  15. #24
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    BRAVEHEART's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    SCOTLAND
    Posts
    396
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked 20 Times in 13 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gerinemo View Post
    Timeshift
    Means the box is permanently recording so that you can rewind a program your watching
    As far as I know when the program is over it deletes the recording and starts again recording the program that is now showing
    so if you try to rewind the program that has only been showing for 2 mins then you can only go back 2 mins but if it was near the end you could go all the way back but when its over the recording will be gone

    Obviously you would need a hard drive installed for this to work

    Happy Christmas
    thanks for explaining that mate as I didn't know , and yes the box has a large capacity mechanical hard drive installed, think its 500GB or something like that, think I have recorded about 2 programs in the 6 years I have had the box since new, lol
    VU+DUO (not a clone)
    FIXED 28.2e DISH
    Latest OpenVix Image

  16. The Following User Says Thank You to BRAVEHEART For This Useful Post:

    gerinemo (23-12-16)

  17. #25
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    BRAVEHEART's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    SCOTLAND
    Posts
    396
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked 20 Times in 13 Posts

    Question

    Quote Originally Posted by ccs View Post
    The PSU will be running 24/7, powering all the electronics in the box.
    Why overuse the box when you don't need to? It probably won't last as long, especially if you have timeshift switched on.
    so could you guide me and tell me where on the menu I turn off timeshift (if its on just now) as I don't see any need for having it on for me personally although
    the wife might find it handy if she needs to pause the program and go for a pee during watching corination street or something, lol
    VU+DUO (not a clone)
    FIXED 28.2e DISH
    Latest OpenVix Image

  18. #26
    Moderator abu baniaz's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    13,564
    Thanks
    4,000
    Thanked 5,190 Times in 3,516 Posts
    You can always press the pause button and activate time shift. This is manual timeshift.

    You can also have timeshift start automatically so that it is always running. If you did not enable it, it will be off.

    Menu > Setup > System > Timeshift settings > Automatically start timeshift after
    default option is disabled

  19. The Following User Says Thank You to abu baniaz For This Useful Post:

    BRAVEHEART (25-12-16)

  20. #27
    Junior Member junglist68's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Keighley
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    We always leave my Vu solo 2 in standby when not in use.It still records all our timers and turns right back on at the push of the standby button with no issues.

    ( Family of 5 here )

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •