Hello Guest, if you're reading this it means you have not yet registered. Please take a second, Click here to register and in a few simple steps, you will be able to enjoy all the many features of our fine community. Please note that nicknames are prohibited lewd or meaningless (no numbers or letters at random) and introduce yourself in the section for you to meet our community.
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Member

    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    32
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Scripting the download of picons

    I'm trying to work on scripting the install and uninstall of picons as part of a plugin I'm writing. Within my plugin I am currently call a .sh file which has this line in it:
    Code:
    Please register to view content. Only take's a few seconds!
    This works, but installs said picons on the root.

    When I use the modifer -o /hdd to attempt to install these to the HDD install of root (eg)

    Code:
    Please register to view content. Only take's a few seconds!
    I now get the following error

    Code:
    Please register to view content. Only take's a few seconds!
    If I go to the picons.xyz site and download the IPK, store it locally in tmp and then use the following code

    Code:
    Please register to view content. Only take's a few seconds!
    This works. So can anyone offer any advice as to how I could use the standard OPKG call using known feeds to install picons onto HDD?

    Thanks in advance

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to Daviemck For This Useful Post:

    Bangord30 (08-08-16)

  3. #2
    ViX Beta Tester Andy_Hazza's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Chesterfield, UK
    Posts
    4,508
    Thanks
    1,186
    Thanked 1,335 Times in 1,078 Posts
    They shouldn't be stored to an hdd. Flash or usb are best.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Vu+ Ultimo 4K with 3TB HDD, Dual FBC tuners, 1x Twin Hybrid DVB-C/T/T2 tuner
    Vu+ Solo 4K with 1TB HDD, Dual FBC tuners, 1x Hybrid DVB-C/T/T2 tuner
    Vu+ Solo 2 with 1TB HDD 'White Edition', 2x DVB-S2 tuners
    Mut@nt HD2400 with 1TB HDD, 4x DVB-S2 tuners
    Fixed 28.2E Technomate 65cm Mesh Satellite Dish with Inverto Unicable II/JESS LNB and Inverto Unicable Splitter
    Fixed 28.2E Sky Zone 1 45cm Satellite Dish with Octo LNB
    (All receivers installed with the latest Dev build)

  4. #3
    Moderator abu baniaz's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    14,190
    Thanks
    4,103
    Thanked 5,435 Times in 3,683 Posts
    When you install picons from plugin server using the GUI, you will be able to select all locations that are in a Linux file system. You don't get an option if you do so by command line.

    I would suggest you try an alternate approach. Install Ocram's feeds ipk. Install the picons. You can then script an opkg update function or just perform an update.

    Another option is to download the tar files to HDD. Inflate and transfer to preferred location. As above, unless HDD is constantly spinning, best to use flash memory.

    Sent from my XT1032 using Forum Fiend v1.3.3.

  5. #4
    Moderator abu baniaz's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    14,190
    Thanks
    4,103
    Thanked 5,435 Times in 3,683 Posts
    You may also wish to use SNPicons instead of SRPicons

  6. #5
    Member

    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    32
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Andy_Hazza View Post
    They shouldn't be stored to an hdd. Flash or usb are best.
    My USB is mounted at /media/hdd

  7. #6
    Moderator abu baniaz's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    14,190
    Thanks
    4,103
    Thanked 5,435 Times in 3,683 Posts

    Scripting the download of picons

    [quote name="Andy_Hazza" post=411991]They shouldn't be stored to an hdd. Flash or usb are best.


    My USB is mounted at /media/hdd[/quote]



    That is fine. A physical/mechanical HDD was implied in previous posts.



    Sent from my XT1032 using Forum Fiend v1.3.3.

  8. #7
    Member

    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    32
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by abu baniaz View Post
    When you install picons from plugin server using the GUI, you will be able to select all locations that are in a Linux file system. You don't get an option if you do so by command line.

    I would suggest you try an alternate approach. Install Ocram's feeds ipk. Install the picons. You can then script an opkg update function or just perform an update.

    Another option is to download the tar files to HDD. Inflate and transfer to preferred location. As above, unless HDD is constantly spinning, best to use flash memory.
    Well - You see if I use the command line and reference the IPK directly (so the full FQDN), I can use -o /hdd and it works fine. So it's obviously available as a command line option. When installing plugin, I assume that ultimately my input is converted into a command line.

    I've already ascertained that I can move the directory post install, but then when I do a opkg remove it doesn't remove the directory and I have to clean up. But I have this as a work around already implemented. But it would appear that I'm going to have to work with this.
    Last edited by Daviemck; 08-08-16 at 18:40.

  9. #8
    Member

    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    32
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by abu baniaz View Post
    You may also wish to use SNPicons instead of SRPicons
    I have prefixed channels so SNPs don't work - SRP picons are working fine

  10. #9
    Member

    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    32
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thanks for your input all - I think I'll just have to continue with the cleanup scripting I've been doing

  11. #10
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    396
    Thanks
    97
    Thanked 89 Times in 65 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Daviemck View Post
    Thanks for your input all - I think I'll just have to continue with the cleanup scripting I've been doing
    Did you find a solution for this as im trying to do similar but want them to install on hdd/SkyQ/picon but also update via feeds is it possible to share what you have?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •