Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Windows 10 upgrade.

  1. #1
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Blu-ray's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    1,147
    Thanks
    930
    Thanked 141 Times in 99 Posts

    Windows 10 upgrade.

    Hi, Have decided to upgrade to the free windows 10 from windows7, have ssd for windows 7 and 1tb for programes/games ect. Is it possible to have a dual boot system for windows 7/10 and keeping both activated for updates. Or wiil upgading to windows 10 mean that i loose the liceince for windows 7. If any one has allready done this is there any problems running 2 os systems on on computer.

  2. #2
    ViX Beta Tester twol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    3,134
    Thanks
    403
    Thanked 978 Times in 757 Posts
    If you upgrade you will get the free option but lose the Win7 system, although you will be able for 30 days to revert back.
    If you do a clean install you can create a dual boot system but ... not free Win10 unless you can find an old WIN7/8 install disk with the key..
    What you could try is backing up the Win7 system using say Acronis, do an upgrade to WIN 10 and allow it to register, then restore the Win7 to a separate partition...... never tried it may or may not work ... knowing Microsoft probably not!!
    Helps to have one of the dual boot packages so you can adjust entries.
    Also download the Win10 download utility from Microsoft, so you can create a USB install package .... I have "done" about 10 PC's and laptops so far with only one hardware problem (on a laptop with dual display adapters)
    Gigablue Quad 4K,
    ..........Unicable FBC Tuners:
    .................. A, C-E, G-H -> Spaun SUS 5581/33 NFA Multiswitch to 1.5M (28.2E)
    .................. B,F -> DUR-Line DCR 5-1-8-L4 Multiswitch 80cm(19.2E)
    Mut@nt HD51 DVB-S2 & DVB-S2X tuners using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Xtrend ET8500 (C/S) & Xtrend ET7500 (C/S) into Giga 4K.

    Giga 4K, HD51 and ET8500 run modified latest ViX (HD51/Giga4k with multiboot OpenViX/OpenATV images)
    ET7500 runs latest ViX

  3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to twol For This Useful Post:

    Blu-ray (01-01-16),nsw9154 (01-01-16)

  4. #3
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    Blu-ray's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    1,147
    Thanks
    930
    Thanked 141 Times in 99 Posts
    Hi, Need advice if this will work. Partion ssd drive then clone windows 7 to new partion and then upgrade to window 10 leaving my original windows 7 on the other partion. Have a 1tb hard drive with music, photos and programes from windows 7, will windows 10 use the 1tb drive to excess my music, photos and programes or will i have to partion the 1tb between windows 7/10 and clone whats on the 1tb drive to the new partion.

  5. #4
    The Boss Sicilian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    26,596
    Thanks
    21,448
    Thanked 24,033 Times in 6,688 Posts
    The free upgrade will upgrade your windows 7 install, you wont be able to keep both.
    D I S C L A I M E R

    My right to post information is protected under the rights for freedom act. In all instances, information discussed here on my posts are either hypothetical in nature, out of general curiosity, common knowledge, public knowledge, or role-play. Any use of the collective descriptions and shared knowledge from any of my posts are at the sole discretion of the reader. I am not responsible for what you do with it!

    Follow us on Twitter 0penViX
    Rules can be found
    HERE
    Support our sponsor World-Of-Satellite
    HERE
    Support our sponsor VUPLUS-SHOP.CO.UK HERE
    EDISION OS MEGA, TM-NANO-SE M2 PLUS, MUTANT HD51, VU+ ULTIMO 4K
    Triax 1.1m Powered by TM2600, Technomate 80cm Powered by TM-2600 and Fixed 28.2 Zone 2 dish





  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Sicilian For This Useful Post:

    Blu-ray (03-01-16)

  7. #5
    V.I.P
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    218
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 232 Times in 96 Posts
    You should be able to perform a clean install using the November Update (1511) iso and a Windows 7 key (really make sure it's a win7 key and not a Vista key on the back of the laptop and an upgraded win7 install you might have done a few years back during the transition from Vista/Win7), as for what Microsoft will do with the Win7 activation a few weeks down the road is an unknown (my guess is not much). As for dual booting the 2 OS's depends on your own capabilities...

    But, you can't do anything wrong really, because.... BACKUPS, you've made BACKUPS, right remember those BACKUPS? If you wanna start from scratch, boot into an Ubuntu live CD and run the command: dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sda bs=1M, it'll sparkle as brand new, just don't do it on your SSD

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to ocram For This Useful Post:

    Blu-ray (03-01-16)

  9. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    221
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 37 Times in 33 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Blu-ray View Post
    Hi, Have decided to upgrade to the free windows 10 from windows7, have ssd for windows 7 and 1tb for programes/games ect. Is it possible to have a dual boot system for windows 7/10 and keeping both activated for updates. Or wiil upgading to windows 10 mean that i loose the liceince for windows 7. If any one has allready done this is there any problems running 2 os systems on on computer.
    I decided to clone win 7 to another HD, and then upgraded to Win 10, as HD are at a reasonable price.

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to Alec For This Useful Post:

    Blu-ray (05-01-16)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •