Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20

Thread: which amp would be suitable? looking for suggestions?

  1. #1
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member


    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    591
    Thanks
    285
    Thanked 72 Times in 66 Posts

    which amp would be suitable? looking for suggestions?

    Hey guys

    Looking for some advice.... I am looking into ceiling speakers for my mate as he wants this as his surround sound. So my idea is he needs an amp to connect telly to speakers. Also I am going to purchase a Mutant 2400 for him so he can move existing box into his bedroom.

    So what the best solution?

    Thanks
    Vu+ Duo
    Vu+ Solo
    Gigablue HD 800 SE

    All with latest vix image - Autobouquets - SgtFlipflop 28.2e Picons - WebradioFS

  2. #2
    The Boss Sicilian's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    26,717
    Thanks
    21,565
    Thanked 24,197 Times in 6,730 Posts
    I'm a big fan of Yamaha amps, checkout Richer Sounds, they normally have some great deals.
    D I S C L A I M E R

    My right to post information is protected under the rights for freedom act. In all instances, information discussed here on my posts are either hypothetical in nature, out of general curiosity, common knowledge, public knowledge, or role-play. Any use of the collective descriptions and shared knowledge from any of my posts are at the sole discretion of the reader. I am not responsible for what you do with it!

    Follow us on Twitter 0penViX
    Rules can be found
    HERE
    Support our sponsor World-Of-Satellite
    HERE
    Support our sponsor VUPLUS-SHOP.CO.UK HERE
    EDISION OS MEGA, TM-NANO-SE M2 PLUS, MUTANT HD51, VU+ ULTIMO 4K
    Triax 1.1m Powered by TM2600, Technomate 80cm Powered by TM-2600 and Fixed 28.2 Zone 2 dish





  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Sicilian For This Useful Post:

    s1m0nw (30-07-15)

  4. #3
    Moderator

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    4,667
    Thanks
    1,205
    Thanked 2,502 Times in 1,342 Posts
    +1 yammy amps are solid.
    Vu Ultimo4K, OpenViX 5.0, 8xdvb-c, 8xdvb-s2, 2xdvb-t2
    Vu Solo4K, OpenViX 5.0, 8xdvb-s2
    Dreambox DM900, OpenViX 5.0, 2xdvb-s2, 2xdvb-c/t2
    Terrestrial, Cable, Fixed 28.2e + Unicable2 LNB

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to rossi2000 For This Useful Post:

    s1m0nw (30-07-15)

  6. #4
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member


    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    413
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 34 Times in 31 Posts
    Got a Denon 1912, lovely warm powerful sound. Next one will be Denon also.

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to skippie For This Useful Post:

    s1m0nw (30-07-15)

  8. #5
    ViX Beta Tester

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    germania
    Posts
    4,407
    Thanks
    99
    Thanked 1,234 Times in 973 Posts
    Hi,
    ten answers ten companies:-)

    I had a Denon 3805 but it was to weak. I love my Onkyo 905 with a separate Rotel Amp now. In my home cinema/HiFi boards Marantz is also high in the ranking. Yamaha is very popular for home cinema because of the good DSP programs.

    ciao
    ---
    Sat:VU+ Ultimo4K/Solo4K/Duo2/2*Solo2, DM7020
    Remote: Harmony 200, 700, 2*785,Link, Smart Control, Smart Companion, 2*Touch, 2*Ultimate, Keyboard

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to Trial For This Useful Post:

    s1m0nw (30-07-15)

  10. #6
    ViX Beta Tester twol's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    3,297
    Thanks
    416
    Thanked 1,035 Times in 800 Posts
    .-.. and the 11th!

    I have used Onkyo for a long time and they have been pretty solid.
    Latest (for me) is a TX-NR626 in my lounge which is controlled via its internet connection - means it can sit behind closed doors with all the other gear (pleases the wife) and still be controlled.
    Gigablue Quad 4K,
    ..........Unicable FBC Tuners:
    .................. A, C-E, G-H -> Spaun SUS 5581/33 NFA Multiswitch to 1.5M (28.2E)
    .................. B,F -> DUR-Line DCR 5-1-8-L4 Multiswitch 80cm(19.2E)
    Mut@nt HD51 DVB-S2 & DVB-S2X tuners using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Xtrend ET7500 (C/S) into Giga 4K.

    Giga 4K & HD51 run modified latest ViX (HD51/Giga4k with integrated multiboot support)
    ET7500 runs latest ViX

  11. #7
    ViX Beta Tester fat-tony's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Wicklow, Ireland
    Posts
    2,240
    Thanks
    543
    Thanked 615 Times in 481 Posts
    I have an Onkyo TX-SR875. Great amp (for its age!), but I couldn't put it in a closed cabinet as it would melt everything in it Super sound, but runs a little(!) hot.
    GB Quad Plus, MB Premium Twin, Mut@nt HD51, 80cm dish and Supreme Dark motor. Sony STR-DN 1060, Sony UHP-H1 Bluray, Venz V10 Pro (Libreelec), Monitor Audio Bronze 5.1 speakers

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to fat-tony For This Useful Post:

    s1m0nw (30-07-15)

  13. #8
    ViX Beta Tester

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    germania
    Posts
    4,407
    Thanks
    99
    Thanked 1,234 Times in 973 Posts
    Hi fat-tony,
    you must see it another way. You need less heating in winter:-)

    My 905 is the big brother of yours and they use the good old analogue technique. My power supply can take up to 1KW.

    ciao
    ---
    Sat:VU+ Ultimo4K/Solo4K/Duo2/2*Solo2, DM7020
    Remote: Harmony 200, 700, 2*785,Link, Smart Control, Smart Companion, 2*Touch, 2*Ultimate, Keyboard

  14. The Following User Says Thank You to Trial For This Useful Post:

    s1m0nw (30-07-15)

  15. #9
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member
    adm's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Southend on Sea, UK
    Posts
    576
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 210 Times in 166 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by fat-tony View Post
    I have an Onkyo TX-SR875. Great amp (for its age!), but I couldn't put it in a closed cabinet as it would melt everything in it Super sound, but runs a little(!) hot.
    My Onkyo manual suggested 8 inches of free air above the box. Yes it does run that hot and cannot be used in a stack of equipment.
    Extrend ET10K, 2 x satellite tuners 28.2 (UK Freesat channels), 2 x hybrid (UK Freeview channels)

  16. The Following User Says Thank You to adm For This Useful Post:

    s1m0nw (30-07-15)

  17. #10
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member


    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    591
    Thanks
    285
    Thanked 72 Times in 66 Posts
    Thanks for all the suggestions... now for the daft question how would you link the sat box with amp?

    Would you use the hdmi sockets on the back of amp?

    Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk
    Vu+ Duo
    Vu+ Solo
    Gigablue HD 800 SE

    All with latest vix image - Autobouquets - SgtFlipflop 28.2e Picons - WebradioFS

  18. #11
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member


    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    2,704
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 565 Times in 486 Posts
    Yes basically, no if you need different advanced settings for each input on your TV, then you would use optical.
    Ps my last 2 amps have been Yamaha.

  19. The Following User Says Thank You to DaMacFunkin For This Useful Post:

    s1m0nw (30-07-15)

  20. #12
    Forum Supporter
    Donated Member


    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    591
    Thanks
    285
    Thanked 72 Times in 66 Posts
    Is there optical connection on the amps any one where i have seen pictures of the back, i havent seen or noticed a bit for optical connection.

    Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk
    Vu+ Duo
    Vu+ Solo
    Gigablue HD 800 SE

    All with latest vix image - Autobouquets - SgtFlipflop 28.2e Picons - WebradioFS

  21. #13
    ViX Beta Tester twol's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    3,297
    Thanks
    416
    Thanked 1,035 Times in 800 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by adm View Post
    My Onkyo manual suggested 8 inches of free air above the box. Yes it does run that hot and cannot be used in a stack of equipment.
    Yep, not sure if my manual says that, but they are hot beasts, which is why the lounge units have temperature controlled fans to draw air through the units - German technology again!
    Although during the last weeks with temperatures upto 37C, I have been opening the cabinet doors
    Gigablue Quad 4K,
    ..........Unicable FBC Tuners:
    .................. A, C-E, G-H -> Spaun SUS 5581/33 NFA Multiswitch to 1.5M (28.2E)
    .................. B,F -> DUR-Line DCR 5-1-8-L4 Multiswitch 80cm(19.2E)
    Mut@nt HD51 DVB-S2 & DVB-S2X tuners using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Xtrend ET7500 (C/S) into Giga 4K.

    Giga 4K & HD51 run modified latest ViX (HD51/Giga4k with integrated multiboot support)
    ET7500 runs latest ViX

  22. #14
    ViX Beta Tester twol's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    3,297
    Thanks
    416
    Thanked 1,035 Times in 800 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by s1m0nw View Post
    Is there optical connection on the amps any one where i have seen pictures of the back, i havent seen or noticed a bit for optical connection.

    Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk
    Yep, my newer lounge Onkyo has 1 optical, whereas the older has 2 optical ... Onkyo obviously don,t see a big need. I use hdmi where ever possible, but have some optical inputs
    Gigablue Quad 4K,
    ..........Unicable FBC Tuners:
    .................. A, C-E, G-H -> Spaun SUS 5581/33 NFA Multiswitch to 1.5M (28.2E)
    .................. B,F -> DUR-Line DCR 5-1-8-L4 Multiswitch 80cm(19.2E)
    Mut@nt HD51 DVB-S2 & DVB-S2X tuners using Legacy ports on multiswitches
    Xtrend ET7500 (C/S) into Giga 4K.

    Giga 4K & HD51 run modified latest ViX (HD51/Giga4k with integrated multiboot support)
    ET7500 runs latest ViX

  23. The Following User Says Thank You to twol For This Useful Post:

    s1m0nw (31-07-15)

  24. #15
    ViX Beta Tester

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    germania
    Posts
    4,407
    Thanks
    99
    Thanked 1,234 Times in 973 Posts
    Hi,
    if you need optical or coaxial SP/DIF you must inform yourself before buying. These old inputs are more and more replaced by an increasing number of HDMI inputs. My old beast still had 3 coaxial and 2 optical inputs but "only" 5 HDMI. Nowadays 6 or more HDMI inputs is normal.

    ciao
    ---
    Sat:VU+ Ultimo4K/Solo4K/Duo2/2*Solo2, DM7020
    Remote: Harmony 200, 700, 2*785,Link, Smart Control, Smart Companion, 2*Touch, 2*Ultimate, Keyboard

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •